Face To Face With David Sturner(Dresden Titans)

David Sturner is a 206cm power forward/center playing his first season in Germany for pro B team Dresden Titans and currently is averaging 11,4ppg and 6,4rpg. He started his basketball career with Orgeon State playing 13 NCAA games and then moved to S.Oregon (NAIA) and as a senior played 31 games: 14.6ppg, 9.2rpg, 1.2apg, 1.5bpg, FGP: 56.2%, 3PT: 36.4%, FT: 56.2%. He started his professional basketball career recently with the West Adelaide Bearcats (Australia-Central ABL) before coming to Germany. He spoke to German Hoops after the big 118-79 win against the Uni-Riesen Leipzig.

 

David thanks for talking to German Hoops. How did you spend the holiday season and new year?

My pleasure Miles. I was fortunate enough to have my fiancé fly out to Dresden from California over the Christmas break. It was amazing to show her the city and experience the Christmas traditions of Dresden together. We spent Christmas in Prague which was also incredible. It’s really a blessing the places basketball can take you.

What new year resolutions have you made for 2016 for David Sturner the professional basketball player and person?

I honestly haven’t taken the time to commit myself to any New Years resolutions. I just plan to continue to stay focused on what’s important both on and off the court. That’s giving my best each day, and working on growing in all areas of my life.

Shortly before the holiday break, the Dresden Titans lost to BG Karlsruhe snapping a three game winning streak. Did that loss personally take long for you to digest?

After the Karlsruhe game I let myself relax and enjoy the break. Normally that would have been a hard game to deal with mentally, but I think it was for the best for all of us to just enjoy the holidays and focus on time with our loved ones.

When looking back at the loss to BG Karlsruhe, what did you notice was missing from the Dresden Titans game to be a top team like them?

I think at that point in time it was just confidence. We have all of the pieces to be a top team, we just have to continue to put them together.

With what kind of approach was the team going into the game against Leipzig? You were looking for your first win against a top 3 team in the Pro B south?

Our approach was very simple, execute our game plan, push the ball, and have fun. We didn’t over complicate the game. We knew if we played this way we’d be successful.

Congrats on the huge 118-79 win against the Uni-Riesen Leipzig. It was the biggest point total of the season and second 100 plus game. What do you feel is the most underrated part about the Dresden offense?

I think if anything is underestimated about our offense, it’s the fact that we have so many guys who are capable of scoring. It doesn’t matter what 5 players are on the court, we have offensive weapons. It’s rare to have a team with so many options.

The game was decided at halftime as you led 66-34. What were the key words that new head coach Steven Clauss stressed besides not losing focus that allowed you to continue playing your game and scoring consistent for 40 minutes?

Well you nailed it right on the head. Coach Clauss told us to continue to focus on executing our game plan, don’t let up, and have fun. He kept it short and simple for us.

How much self confidence did this win give the club and do you see it growing in the next months?

I think it gave us a lot of confidence. We really went out and did what we knew we could do. We want to continue to build on each game and I think confidence is something that we will have more and more of each week.

After going into the game with a 6-8 record, on what things does the team still need to improve on to reach the playoffs this season?

That’s a tough question because we can always improve in each area of the game. I think at this point because we have a new coach with new schemes and a new playing style we just really need to focus on everything new that Coach Clauss has introduced us to and improve on those things.

The club had six players in double figures. Can this unselfishness be carried on into the next games?

Absolutely! I don’t know if we will average 120 points a game, but with our offense and personnel we can have a number of guys score in double figures every night.

How important was the pick up of Randal Holt who netted 25 points in his first game? What does he give the club that was lacking before besides massive scoring punch?

Adding Randall to the team was a great pick up for us, and obviously has already started to pay off. Randall’s game is very versatile, and he has the ability to create for himself as well as others so we will have a lot of different looks offensively.

How excited are you to be playing with Randall Holt. How can you profit best from his game?

I’m very excited to play with Randall. I think he is a great talent and has a lot to offer to our team. When Randall has the ball he is a playmaker and I believe he demands a lot of focus from the defense. This will leave myself and others open a lot and we just need to be ready to score when he finds us. I think everyone will profit from having him on the floor.

The club has a very experienced and knowledgeable coach with Steven Clauss. What does he give the team now that German Thomas Krzywinski didn´t have?

I think both Steven and Thomas are great coaches, and I’ve learned a lot from both of them. Coach Clauss comes to us with extensive coaching experience and more knowledge about the game than any other coach I’ve played for. I think the team has responded very well to his style, and our new offensive and defensive schemes compliment our personnel very well.

You are averaging 11,4ppg, 6,4rpg and 1,2apg. How happy have you been with your offensive input in the first half of the season?

I feel that I’ve underachieved offensively up to this point in the season. I will always be working to improve my game and be more efficient, but at the end of the day as long as we are winning games, I’ll be happy.

You had a super start to the season, then struggled a bit, but have picked it up in the last three games. What continues be most stressful for you on the court in your first season in Germany?

It’s hard to say what’s been stressful for me on the court. I usually don’t find myself stressing too much when I’m playing. If there’s been anything, it’s been that we have underachieved so far this season. When your record doesn’t reflect how good the team is, that can cause a lot of stress.

What do you want to improve in your game in the second half of the season?

I would like to improve all aspects of my game throughout the rest of the season, but if I had to narrow it down I would say my defense, and being more aggressive rebounding.

Do you see Steph Curry hitting for 70 points in the next years?

I think he could, but no he won’t. I don’t think that he would ever be selfish enough to take that many shots. He’s still a point guard after all.

Have you seen the new Star Wars movie? What was your impression of it and how do you compare it to the others?

I did get to see the new Star Wars. I saw it during the Christmas break with my fiancé, here in Dresden. I really loved the movie! I think that the next two movies will determine how great this one really was, and I don’t think you can compare the movies with one another.

What was the last movie that you saw?

I haven’t watched another movie since Star Wars! Thanks Miles!

 

Thanks David for the chat.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

