Alex Foster (RheinStars) It’s Never As Good As It Seems And It’s Never As Bad As It Seems Mindset Gets Me Through My Struggles And Will Keep Me Grounded As I Find Success

Alex Foster is a 23 year old 203cm forward that grew up in Portland, Oregon and also has the German citizenship and is playing his professional rookie season in Germany with the RheinStars(Germany-ProA). He played at Emory (NCAA3) from 2011-2015 playing a total of 108 NCAA3 games and as a senior played 20.1ppg, 7.9rpg, 1.0apg, FGP: 44.6%, 3PT: 39.9%, FT: 79.8%. He was able to improve his scoring and rebounding average each season. He spoke to German Hoops after the RheinStars 84-83 victory against Rhondorf

Alex congrats on the 84-83 win against Rhondorf. Do you think that there will be another Christmas gift that will top this Christmas gift game winning shot?

Well my parents and little sister are visiting from the US and we’re all driving down to Stuttgart to celebrate Christmas with my mom’s family. So us all being together as a family is the best gift I could ask for, but the feeling of winning is pretty great too.

It was a wild game as the RheinStars had the comfortable lead at halftime, but Rhondorf never gave up coming back in the fourth down 9 points and taking the lead. Why wasn´t the team able to close the door earlier on them?

They deserve credit for fighting their way back into the game. I thought they were able to make us uncomfortable by switching defense and then they were making lots of plays on offense. We were out of sorts and they took advantage.

How good did it feel being the go to guy down the stretch where you hit three three pointers in a row that was instrumental in getting the win?

It wasn’t the way we wanted to win, but it still felt good. After their big run, we could have gone under, but we held tight, took a deep breath, and stole the win back.

Take us through your game winning shot. Was the game winning three designed for you or was to find the best option to what the defense gave you?

We had a couple different options, but I was the one that got open. After I caught the inbounds, I took two hard dribbles which put my defender on his heels. Once I got enough space, I let it fly.

Despite getting the win, the RheinStars Cologne had 20 turnovers giving Rhondorf 8 extra scoring opportunities. Do these type of stats get easily forgotten after a win like that?

Definitely not. None of us were happy with how we played overall, so we’re going to get back to work after Christmas and address all of the mistakes we made.

You go into the break with a 8-7 record and in seventh position. On what areas does the team need to focus on in the second half in getting better?

First off, I hope the new year brings good health to our team. We’ve had key players out with injuries over the last two months, which has made things more difficult. Otherwise, I think we need keep developing our team identity, which means playing good basketball for longer stretches.

How important was this game for you scoring 18 points after shooting 2/12 in the last two games and scoring only 5 points. Will it be easier getting back to the floor after the break having extra self confidence?

My college coach told me, “it’s never as good as it seems and it’s never as bad as it seems.” That mindset gets me through my struggles and will keep me grounded as I find success.

Your averaging 10,6ppg and 3,3rpg. Is it increasing your inside out game and rebounding something that you will continue to work on in the second half of the season?

I will continue to work on all aspects of my game. I’m becoming a better, more-rounded player everyday.

Who would make the best original Santa Claus in a suit? Lakeem Jackson, Aaron Jones or David Downs?

I think it would be pretty funny if Lakeem dressed up as Santa and AJ and Dave dressed as his elves.

What was your fondest Christmas memory as a kid?

As a kid, I was always happy if the Trail Blazers won on Christmas, which was pretty often (they have the best Christmas Day record in the NBA).

What was the last movie that you saw?

Star Wars: The Force Awakens. My assistant coach loaned me Episodes IV, V, & VI, so I watched those in anticipation for the new one. I recommend watching the old ones before you go see episode VII; it makes it much better.

 

Thanks Alex for the chat.

 

 

Leave a Reply

