Shawn Dyer (Playing Professional Basketball Would Be Like Being A Kid In A Candy Store)

 

Shawn Dyer is a 183cm point guard from Marion, Ohio that recently finished his college career at Indiana, PA (NCAA2) playing 25 games averaging 14.1ppg, 5.3rpg, 2.2apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 49.1%, 3PT: 38.1%, FT: 80.6%. He started his college career at : W.Liberty St. (NCAA2) and as a junior played 35 games: 14.9ppg, 4.8rpg, 3.4apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 48.4%, 3PT: 39.2%, FT: 75.8%. He won 3 WVIAC Tournaments and reached the NCAA2 final in 2014 and 2015. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

 

 

Shawn thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and do you have all your Christmas shopping taken care of?

Thanks for the interview. I am 90% done with Christmas shopping. Still got to get some stuff for my nieces and my little boy. Other than that Christmas shopping is done, Thank God.

You finished your college career at Indiana, PA (NCAA2) last spring, but aren´t playing professionally. Why aren´t you playing now? It seems like you want to, but had no one help you.

Well I heard it is extremely hard for guards to be placed overseas and I’m not witnessing it. But I’m just not any other guard. I took two different teams to two National Championships. Coaches at D2 really do not know a lot of people so it makes them not want to care about placing guys overseas even if it is their goal. Very seldom do coaches help place guys overseas at the D2 level.

Do you feel like that if you had gone to Bellarmine that your professional career may have gone a different path?

Easily! If I would have went to Bellarmine I would be a professional ball player right now. Look at their track record and I’m pretty sure they have placed numerous guys overseas. That coach cares about his players. I tried my hardest to go there because my sister was 5 mins away from there because she attended University of Louisville. But everything happens for a reason. I would have won a National Championship too.

How big is your desire to be a professional basketball player? Could you describe this wish to anything else in life?

It has and still is a dream and goal to play professional basketball. With a resume like mine how could it not be? I work hard and I see the hard work transition over to the games and I just think I can play at the level so why not pursue it? Playing professional basketball would be like being a kid in a candy store. I talked to people who are over there now and they love it. Doing something you love and getting paid. I mean, what’s better than that? Especially while you are young. Basketball is a beautiful thing. If you can travel around the country while playing basketball, then I say go for it.

The good news is that you are still young. How have the last months gone for you? Did you not try to seek an agent over the summer?

Last few months have been going well. I found something to keep me busy until I find a job overseas so that is good. Middle School basketball coach so I still can be around the game of basketball which is love. I tried to see an agent and still do to this day. I feel like they can help tremendously. But since I am a guard they all give me “its so hard to place guards overseas” speech. Again, I’m not just any other guard though. Check my resume.

What kind of shape are you in now? How does a normal training day look like for you on and off the court?

There are two different types of shape. Basketball shape and shape-shape. Luckily the thought of getting paid to play basketball and do something you love is the only motivation I need to continue to stay in basketball shape. At first I was in shape-shape but as we all know as basketball players you have to be in basketball shape. It is two totally different things to think you’re in shape for basketball and just in regular shape. I lift in the mornings pretty much 5 days a week , take weekends off for off the court training. Throughout the week for on court training I have a coach here who puts me through workouts, gets me out my comfort zone. He knows my goals and is confident in me. So I’m blessed to have someone push me to stay in basketball shape to ultimately reach my goal of playing professional basketball. Lots of ball handling and shooting. I pride myself throughout my career to be able to shoot the 3 ball. But the workouts vary which is good. The importance is just getting on the court and getting better every single day.

You played three seasons at W.Liberty St. (NCAA2) before moving to Indiana, PA (NCAA2) as a senior. Why did you move after averaging 14.9ppg, 4.8rpg, 3.4apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 48.4%, 3PT: 39.2%, FT: 75.8% your junior year?

West Liberty University is a good school. Just not for me. Coach there at West Liberty tried to box me in and restrict me to what I really could’ve been. I was the best player when I stepped on campus. His policy was wait your turn etc. etc. Why wait if I know I’m better than player x, y, z. The level of competition I played at West Liberty was sad. Pre-season we are playing d3 teams. West Liberty is one of the highest ranking d2 teams, yet we are playing d3 teams before the season. The coach is content with playing a bunch of nobodies which usually results in 25 win seasons. I’m a guy who pushes myself. Went to IUP and had exhibition games against Pittsburgh, University of South Florida and Florida Gulf Coast. You see the difference? I tried to transfer my second year from West Liberty, but the coach would not release me. So he’s kind of a low person and doesn’t really care about his players. He wants all the credit. I wasn’t getting pushed at West Liberty and I felt I needed to play for a coach who is not about himself and better competition. Ironically, I did receive my degree from West Liberty when the coach told me it would be a “bad idea to graduate”. West Liberty was just a school where I deeply regret going to. The coach really has nothing to offer unless its for him.

You were a NCAA 2 finalist two years in a row with two different teams. That should be reason enough that you can lead a team. Talk a bit about your leadership ability?

As a leader, I think it’s important to lead by example and let others actually see how hard you work. It can’t be about talk. Its one thing to talk it its another thing to talk it and to be about it. When I was with WL, I talked it and walked it. But more so of letting my game speak and lead the way. I don’t know how many games I won single handling at WL but it was a ton. The guys had faith in me and didn’t mind me leading on the court. At IUP the guys there knew my track record and knew I´m a winning guy. And we were all on the same page of what we were trying to accomplish, a National Championship. At WL, most of those guys are just out there for fun. And if you so happen to reach a National Championship then so be it. At IUP we wanted to get there and WIN it. In the end, my leadership really showed on the court and matter most. It showed because I was able to get myself and my teammates in positions to succeed as you can see if you watch some of the game film. There is no question that I can lead a team, the question is what organization is willing to give me an opportunity so I can compete for National Championships. Off the court it’s simple, you pretty much tell yourself, do your job. If you want to continue to play basketball ,you will do your job in the classroom. And once guys get that down, college is nothing but fun!

Last season you led Indiana, PA with Devanate Chance. Do you see yourself being able to carry a team as a professional?

I definitely think I can carry a team as a professional. I feel like I have always been serious about the approach I take to the game and the manner in which I handle myself. I feel like if you have a job to do , DO IT! Especially if you have the right resources. As professionals you have to know you are now getting paid. Therefore, you stay after and get shots up or even a lift. You stay after and watch film with the coach. You come to practice couple hours earlier to go over the plays or to get a good sweat in before you start the real practice. All those things I’ve been doing in college. Sometimes you may have to adjust as well. As professionals you got to be able to adjust and adapt. I think I can adjust to where ever I go and help carry a team as a professional. At the professional level, if you don’t do your job, you will be replaced!

You are a very strong rebounding guard. Talk a little about your game and what your biggest strength is?

I just like playing above the rim, especially when grabbing a rebound. My last two years of college ball. I led both WL and IUP in rebounding as a guard. So that’s nice to see. It’s just about how bad you want it, you know. I take pride in getting rebounds and wanting to get the ball to lead the break. I know coaches love guards who can rebound too and I have a high IQ of the game and most confident that I ‘ll make the right play or the right pass at the right time. So I need the ball so I can put myself in positions to succeed as well as my teammates. I think my biggest strength is my IQ. I’m able to make the right bounce pass at the right time. I can make a back cut when necessary. I see things before it happens. I think nowadays IQ’s are lost. It’s important to study the game, watch film, put in the work, have a good feel for the game. I think I have all of that. I think my IQ separates me from a lot of players too.

You can fill up the stat sheet as well as score in bunches, but what would you describe is a hidden strength that doesn´t always get noticed on the court?

Hmmm. I would have to say awareness. All times you have to be aware of what’s going on on the court. What’s around you, the time and the score is something you should have to know as a guard. Are we in the 1 and 1 or double bonus? Can we get a 2 for 1 shot? Does a certain player on the opposing team have 4 fouls? Those are just some general things about awareness. Seeing things before it happens. I think that’s one of the biggest things that doesn’t always gets noticed. Basketball is a tough sport. It’s crucial to know what is going on at all times or you will get exposed.

How often do you think about losing two NCAA 2 finals? Which loss was tougher?

I think about it A LOT! I think the first loss was tougher just for the simple fact I thought we were better against Central Missouri across the board. That WL team could really shoot the ball well.A lot of people like the coach was surprised to even be in the National Championship. Just the thought of appearing in a National Championship was a win for the people and coach at WL. I was trying to win the thing. The second loss was a smack in the face. You have to give credit when credit is due. Florida Southern was a great basketball team with Kevin Capers leading the way who is now in the D league I believe. We thought we played well, I just don’t think they missed. The good thing about IUP is that we were actually trying to win it. We worked so hard and saw ourselves as Champions, God just had other plans for us. Either way they were both tough to handle and I think about them both quite often. Fortunately I was able to play in two. That’ll show you what hard work does.

You won the WVIAC tournament in 2011, 2012 and 2013. Which one was sweetest?

I think the 2011 was just because I got a taste of what it is like to be a champion and I want to continue to feel this way throughout my college career. What was nice about the WVIAC tournament is that it was played in Charleston West Virginia. So we had the opportunities to win right there in Charleston which was just a great feeling. 3 conferences titles even though I should have 4. But they were all sweet to me. It just showed the hard work and effort that we all put towards a coach who really didn’t do the same back. Really didn’t work as hard as we did.

Where do you rank your 23 point effort in the 77-74 win against your ex school West Liberty State last season in your alltime best games?

#1. There was absolutely no way I was walking out of that building with a loss. NO WAY. I owned that gym. I worked the hardest when I was there. I never wanted to leave that gym. But the assistant coach and head coach made it seem like it was a burden to be in the gym as much as I was. The gym would close at 10pm on weekdays AND earlier on weekends. But when I wanted to transfer they gave me you can get in the gym whenever you want speech. But during this games I received continuous boo’s from the fans, traitor! traitor! traitor! traitor chants throughout the game. It was awesome! Luckily for me I’m a guy who doesn’t get phased by fans or crowds for the most part. I had been there the 4 previous years so I thought they would’ve know I don’t get rattled especially after winning all these games for those fans in that building. Any banner you see hung up on that gymnasium, I was a part of that team. Shout out to the guys at IUP for holding me down. Even though basketball is not a 1 on 1 sport those guys knew how I felt about that fans/coach at WL. It just wasn’t a place for me. I still watch this game pretty often. We took care of business there like we needed to do. It was a fun fun game.

If you could describe in a few sentences as to why you could help any professional team now how would you do it?

Lead by example. Be one of the first to get there and be one of the last to leave the gym. My IQ of the game is real high. So I feel like I would adjust and adapt to whatever organization picks me up. And I’m a winner. All I’ve done throughout college is win ball games. I’m bringing that mentality with me where ever I go. No worries about off court-issues. I handle and construct myself like a professional.

Who won a one on one in practice last season you or Devonte Chance?

You want the humble answer or the competitive answer. Honestly, I don’t remember playing Devante too often last year. I probably beat him if we did play hahaha. Nah but Devante pushed me day in and day out and I tried to return the favor. He is one of the toughest guys I had the chance to play with. He’s probably working out right now knowing him. And that’s what I missed most about IUP. It was like a competition. Anytime I am leaving the gym I would see Devante come in ready to work out or it would be the other way round. That’s if we hadn’t already planned on working out. Devante is one hard ass worker and I’m glad we pushed each other day in and day out. I believe he is currently in Portugal so I’m happy for him.

What is the state of Lebron James in 2015? Do you believe that one day when all is said and done that he will be mentioned in the same breath as Michael Jordan?

If he is mentioned in the same breathe as MJ right now yes I think he will be mentioned when it is all said and done. Let it be know that he is LJ not MJ thou. There is only one MJ. There is only one LJ. The great thing about Lebron is his work ethic is undeniable. He is always willing to get better and learn new ways or what he needs to work out, He does a tremendous job of focusing on what is in front of him. My all time favorite player to watch. His approach to the game is just flat out sensational. He knows how to play the right way. People bash him for playing the right way which will never be understood in my opinion. That’s why we play the game is to play it the right way and to make our teammates better. It’s safe to say that any team Lebron is on he does both of those things.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

The last DVD movie I saw was Mr. Brooks featuring Kevin Costner. Very very talented actor. I have to catch up on watching movies thou. Hopefully when I am signed to an organization I’ll have that luxury to watch more DVD’s if I’m not in the gym or something.

Thanks Shawn for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

