Seamus Boxley (Proximus Spirou Charleroi) We See Constantly In This Game That What Is Ultimately Respected Is Winning

Seamus Boxley is a 33 year old 201cm forward from Mountlake Terrace, Washington that is playing his 11th professional season and first with Proximus Spirou Charleroi (Belgium-Scooore League). He played at Portland State from 2000-2005 and as a senior played 28 games: 20.6ppg, 8.1rpg, 2.5apg, 1.4bpg, FGP: 59.2%, 3Pts: 36.1%. He turned professional and since then has played in countries like China, United States, Holland, Germany, Austria and the Ukraine. He had his longest stint with Leiden in Holland winning four titles. Last season the three time Dutch allstar played fro Limburg United (Belgium-Scooore League) playing 30 games: 13.9ppg, 5.5rpg, 2.6apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 56.3%, 3PT: 32.9%, FT: 59.6%. He spoke to German Hoops recently before the Eurocup game against ratiopharm Ulm.

 

Seamus thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how is Belgium life treating you?

Currently I’m in Charleroi playing for Proximus Spirou. Life in Belgium is good, just a little crazy with everything that’s been going on with the terror threats and some of the suspects of the terrorist attacks of Paris being found in Belgium.

It seems like ages when you played in Germany for the Giessen 46ers. You played many years in Holland and also in Austria and Belgium. Have you come back and visited Germany often in the last 8 years?

The only time that I’ve visited Germany has been to play games against teams there. Other than that I haven’t visited Germany much.

You are playing your first season with Proximus Spirou Charleroi (Belgium-Scooore League) in your eight country as a professional. Do you sometimes feel like you are a basketball globetrotter?

Sometimes I do think about all the places around the world that I’ve got to experience. I feel extremely blessed to have been given the opportunity to see so many different places and experience the different cultures.

At the moment Proximus Spirou Charleroi (Belgium-Scooore League) is in second place with a 6-1 record in the Belgium league behind 7-1 Ostende. Is your team a perfect crunch time team so far?

I wouldn’t say that we’re perfect, but we understand the things we need to work on individually and as a team that will put us in the best position to obtain our goals.

You have won one game by five points, four by four points and one by three points. Is the team chemistry already pretty much where it should be even at this early juncture of the season?

Actually we are still working on chemistry. We’ve experienced our share of injuries already on this team and slowly have been getting everybody back on the court so some of us haven’t had enough time yet to gel and learn each other’s game. We know it will come, it is something we are emphasizing.

In Eurocup you are 0-5, but were close in three games and lost to ratiopharm Ulm in OT. How confident are you that the team will pull out some wins in this competition?

I’m extremely confident that we can win in the Eurocup competition. We have a very hungry and competitive team and we have been learning from our losses.

What lessons did the team learn from the ratiopharm ulm loss and will do better this time?

I think the main thing we learned is that we need to finish games. Ratiopharm is a great team and well coached, and they fought to the end and found a way to win.

What exactly is your role on the team? You are the second oldest on the team after American Justin Hamilton. Do you two guys keep the team together with your experience?

As a veteran player on the team my job is mainly to lead by example and when the time presents itself to help the younger players out with my experience. Of course just doing my job to the best of my ability everyday but that’s a given.

What has it been playing with the Baron brothers and how important have they been for the success of the team?

I’ve enjoyed having both Billy and Jimmy as teammates. They are great players and even greater men and teammates. They play a major role for our team and work extremely hard.

How long did it take you to realize that Justin Hamilton is a legend on this team? He is playing his ninth season for Proximus Spirou Charleroi (Belgium-Scooore League) and just can´t leave.

Not to many players have done what Justin has done and he has been so helpful in my transition to this team.

You have won 4 titles with Leiden. At this stage of your career is winning titles your biggest goal?

At this stage of my career winning is everything, which is why I came to Charleroi. Stats mean nothing to me, at this point in my career. I’ve proven what I can do as a player. We see constantly in this game that what is ultimately respected is winning.

You have always been a consistent scorer and rebounder in your career in whatever situation you were put in, but what is a hidden strength in your game that you feel often gets unnoticed?

I think what I put most of my pride in is on the defensive end of the floor. My defense is definitely my greatest strength.

Last season you played for Limburg for head coach Brian Lynch who had a nice long playing career. How much potential does he have as a coach and where do you see his coaching route going?

Brian is a great coach! I absolutely loved playing for him and I’m not the only one who feels like that. He gets the most out of his players and empowers them on the floor. I don’t think there is a ceiling for Brian as a coach, he can do whatever he wants with it.

In the 2013-2014 season you played in the Ukraine. How tough was this season in terms of all the political turmoil there? Did you ever have thoughts of leaving early?

I actually did have to leave early because of everything that was going on there. It was unfortunate not to be able to finish the season, but to be there and see what the people of Ukraine were going through it was obviously much bigger than basketball. Prayers up to all the people of Ukraine.

How much credit do you give Eugene Lawrence for your scoring success that season with Hoverla Ivano-Frankivsk (Ukraine-Superleague)? He then made the jump to the Beko BBL and Bonn.

Geno still is a great friend and was my closest teammate on that team. He’s such a gifted point guard and we immediately found rhythm together. With a point guard like Geno you just need to be ready and he’ll set you up. Just put it in the basket.

You had 4 very prosperous years with Leiden winning five titles. Was there never an idea just to continue and win more titles and close your career out there?

No I am a player that has always wanted to play against the best competition so while I loved my time there and the success we had I really wanted to challenge myself to play at higher levels so that I could continue to grow as a player.

It was obviously a team effort in winning the 2011 Dutch title, but how vital was the basketball existence of Monta Mcghee that season?

Monta is easily in my top five players that I loved to play with. We really challenged each other every day that season to prepare ourselves for the playoffs. Plain and simple we wouldn’t have won the championship that year without Monta.

You played early in your career for the Giessen 46ers. When you look back how important was getting experience in the Beko BBL early? What memories do you have form the competition and opponents?

I really enjoyed playing in the BBL. I learned a lot about myself and what I needed to work on. Every night you have game there. From the bottom to the top the league is strong.

What memories do you have of Florian Hartenstein? Did you ever think then that a nine year old Isaiah Hartenstein could one day become one of the biggest european basketball prospects one day?

Big Flo is a great guy. We knew even back then that his son would be a great player. He was always around and in the gym.

As a rookie you joined Fujian SBS XunXin (China-CBA), in Oct..’05 signed a one week contract at Queluz Sintra Patrim쎳nio Mundial (Portugal-TMN), returned to the United States after 4 days. What was your wake up call to being a professional then?

I was drafted in the 3rd round for China, which isn’t guaranteed and Portugal was a tryout. When I got there I decided that I still wanted to give the NBA a shot so I left to play in the D-League. The team spun it differently and I was never asked for my side of the story so I looked bad for leaving but they hadn’t offer me a solid deal yet.

Then you finished your rookie season with the Tulsa 66ers (D-League). What did you enjoy and hate about the D-League?

What I love about the D-League is that you really have the opportunity to impress and been seen regularly by NBA scouts. What I dislike about it is you’re not really on a team. It’s much more everybody for themselves and for me that was tough to deal with as a rookie.

You played at Portland St. (NCAA) from 2000-2005 and as a senior averaged 28 games: 20.6ppg, 8.1rpg, 2.5apg, 1.4bpg, FGP: 59.2%, 3Pts: 36.1%. You played at the well known Portsmouth invitational, but why didn´t you get a better look from the NBA? Do you feel your school and conference wasn´t big enough?

I got looks and had my opportunities but it didn’t happen. There have been other players from my conference who have gone to the NBA and are playing great like Rodney Stuckey, and Damian Lillard so I can’t say it has anything to do with my school or conference. I just didn’t do enough to impress them.

Talk about ex teammates Jeb Ivy and Troy De Vries and how they enriched your basketball life when you were at Portland State?

Jeb is my best friend and I consider him family. He’s enriched my life beyond measure and I’m very thankful for his friendship. Troy was a great friend in college and his wife Stephanie as well.

How did head coach Heath Schroyer prepare and groom you best for a professional basketball career?

Coach and I spent countless hours in the gym honing my craft. He asked me what I wanted to do with basketball and then held me accountable to my word.

Who won or would win a one on one last season you or Dane Watts?

Hahaha, Dane’s a great player. I’m going give a no comment on this one.

 

What is the state of Lebron James in 2015? Will he ever be mentioned in the same breath as a Michael Jordan?

Even with the emergence of Steph Curry I still think he is the best player in the world and will be in the running once again for a title. If he and his team are healthy at the end of the season it will be hard for another team to get them in a 7 game series.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Last movie I saw was Southpaw and I encourage all to watch it!

 

Thanks Seamus for the chat.

Leave a Reply

