Brandon Johnson (Crailsheim Merlins) We Want To Cut Down Our Points But Sometimes It’s The Gift And Curse Playing Fast Like We Do

Brandon Johnson is a 29 year old 183cm guard from Houston, Texas that is playing his first season with the team Crailsheim Merlins and is averaging 4,8ppg and 3,8apg . He started his basketball career at San Diego(NCAA) in 2005 and played there until 2010 playing a total of 134 NCAA games and as a senior played 29 games averaging 14.0ppg, 2.7rpg, 3.4apg, 1.9spg, FGP: 35.4%, 3PT: 32.2%, FT: 77.9%. He turned professional in 2010 and played for the Dakota Wizards (D-League) playing 24 games: 6.3ppg, 2.1rpg, 2.2apg, FGP: 41.0%, 3PT: 20.8%, FT: 82.2%. Two seasons ago he played for Hoops Club (Lebanon-Division A) playing 5 games: 17.2ppg, 5.4rpg, 6.6apg, 2.4spg, FGP: 32.6%, 3PT: 25.5%, FT: 64.5%. Last season he finally made his big breakthrough in Europe with the t Cuxhaven BasCats (Germany-ProA) coming in the second half of the season and saving their year and played 12 games averaging 21.9ppg, 4.8rpg, 5.6apg, 2.8spg, FGP: 50.0%, 3PT: 44.6%, FT: 70.3%. He spoke to German Hoops after the 99-90 victory against ratiopharm Ulm.

Congrats Brandon on the big 99-90 win against ratiopharm Ulm. The second win of the season against a playoff team. What was key at the end for getting the win?

I think our guys do a great job of sticking together at the end, believing in the system and stepping up making free throws at the end of the game.

The starting five played very well in this game. Does the consistency of the starting five have to continue to be there for this team to be successful?

I think on any team you need the starting five to be consistent but to win games the bench has to also. Early in the game the starting 5 did a really good job of getting a lead and the substitutions came in and didn’t bring the same energy so overall for our team to be successful we need everyone to be consistent on what they bring to the Team.

Crailsheim is currently 2-2 and the first four games have been mysterious. Two big wins against playoff teams, a tight loss to Alba Berlin and a blow out loss to Bamberg by 44 points. Is the team still trying to find its self?

It’s still early I believe every team still has a lot to improve in the midst of still trying to find a identity. Overall we would love to be 4-0 we have learned a lot from the loses and wins our coaches do a great job of keeping the atmosphere positive so we just continue to build and try to get better.

Is it surprising that Crailsheim is 2-2 despite the team giving up many points?

I think to people looking in from the outside is surprised but we have a great mixture players on this team I credit the organization for really bringing this group together we believe in the system and the guy next to us and that right there will help you win games when talent don’t. Far as giving up a lot of points we for sure want to cut that down sometimes it’s the gift and curse playing fast like we do.

Do you see Crailsheim being able to hold their offensive power for a long stretch of time?

Coach does a great job finding each player´s strength and putting us in the positions to be successful to score. Our system we run is to get the ball out and push up the court creating more opportunities in transition to score at a faster in higher rate. If we can do that at a high level I think we will be ok

How big was the signing of Adam Chubb? What have you liked most about the game of the big man in the first few days?

Impact player instantly, I’m actually shocked a player like him was available. His feel for the game makes it easier for us and to play with him. Leadership has been great from the day he walked in like a true professional.

Crailsheim has some very good athletes but what do you feel is still the biggest area that needs tweaking on on defense?

I’m not sure if I can answer this ? Lol I feel like I’m giving the other teams a cheat sheet lol I’ll just say we can do a better job on guarding the ball

Your averaging 19 minutes a game and 4,8ppg and 3,8apg, but I am sure that you feel you could be more effective in the minutes you are getting. Is the Beko BBL still a level and style you have to get used to?

I think me not playing during preseason has gotten me off to a slow start not really able to find a rhythm and getting a chance to really get that chemistry with the team. Each game I’m getting more comfortable. I think the level is better than pro A but personally I feel comfortable in the Beko BBL

How comfortable are you coming from the bench and how beneficial is the healthy competition with Jordan Callahan during practices?

It’s new for me I’m adjusting to my new role trying to make sure I bring energy and making the most of the time when I’m out there. Playing against Jordan aka (CurryCallahan) he’s for sure helping me get my legs back under me. Like I said preseason I was out for the most part. He has a great motor always moving great energy so chasing him around all practice has helped a lot getting me back in shape.

What has been your impression of young Liam Crapenter? Are you a type of Mentor for him?

He’s a great kid, hard worker and dedicated to the game that’s hard to teach at a young age he was actually my first roommate on the road found out he’s a Drake fan lol. Far as mentoring him I try to say things throughout practice sometimes when were competing but he picks up on things fast he has a huge upside to be one of the top guards soon

You had 8 assists against a good defensive team with Alba Berlin. Was this a game that heightened your self confidence where you now know that you can compete with the best teams?

Playing against 2 of the top guards Cherry and Taylor did give me some confidence more so physically I played a lot of minutes that game more than I did all year. My injury at the beginning of preseason had me sitting out for a couple weeks so every little inch I’m trying to build on.

The next game is a derby against Tuebingen and the poorest team that Crailsheim will have faced. Is this a game where the team will finally be above 500?

We definitely want to get the win but we will go into the game like their the richest team and as if they are number 1 in the BBL, because we are not over looking anyone

Derrick Rose is injured again. Is there a curse on him? Do you ever see him playing through a whole NBA season?

I think he will be ok he’s a tough kid I’m Praying the basketball Gods are with him this year what he brings to the NBA is priceless

What was the last movie that you saw?

The Pan.

Thanks Brandon for the chat.

Leave a Reply

