Larry Gordon (Eisbaeren Bremerhaven) I Have To Prove Myself Again This Year To Show That I’m Capable Of Playing At A High Level

Larry Gordon is a 28 year old 196cm forward that recently finished his third season with Phoenix Hagen and will play for the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven this season. The American played a total of 101 games for Phoenix Hagen leading them into the playoffs once and last season played 30 games averaging 14.0ppg, 6.2rpg, 1.7apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 53.2%, 3PT: 34.7%, FT: 72.1% He played at  Cal Poly Pomona (NCAA2) from 2005 to 2009 playing a total of 116 NCAA2 games. In his senior year, he played 33 games: 15.7ppg, 10.4rpg, 2.0apg, 1.7apg, FGP: 53.8%, 3PT: 38.5%, FT: 75.7%. He was a CCAA Player of the Year and NCAA D2 Finalist in 2009. In 2009-2010, he came to Europe as a rookie and played for Landstede Basketbal Zwolle (Holland-Eredivisie) playing 36 games and averaging 14.0ppg, 8.1rpg, 1.8apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 48.3%, 3PT: 33.7%, FT: 75.8%. He played for ECE Bulls Kapfenberg (Austria-A Bundesliga) from 2010-2012 before coming to Phoenix Hagen in 2012. Larry Gordon spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Larry thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

I’m in sunny Southern California. My summer was really great, me and my wife traveled and really enjoyed our summer. And of course it was in the gym continuing to develop my game.

After three seasons with Phoenix Hagen you have made the jump to the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven. What were the main reasons for joining this team?

It really just was the best the situation/ opportunity for me and my wife. I talked with coach Muli and I like what is his concept is and how he wants to play this season. And I think the roster of guys we have, will give us a big chance to be successful this season.

You had three very strong seasons with Phoenix Hagen and I believed that you could have reached and deserved to play for a top team in Germany. Do you feel that it is still a bit early for you to make that step?

No I do not, I thought that I showcased and developed my game over the past 3 seasons to be able to make that next step with a top club but apparently it didn’t happen. So it looks like I have to prove myself again this year to show that I’m capable of playing at a high level.

Sometimes it is about making smaller steps instead of big steps in a players development. Are the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven just a part of the process in your development that could lead to bigger and better things down the road?

Of course, I believe that any situation your in is a process of getting better so that you can continue the climb to the top. As a basketball player my goal is to play at the highest level with a high level team. But sometimes you do have to take small steps or even take steps back to be able to make good progress in your career.

You move from the players coach Ingo Freyer to the drill captain Muli Katzurin. How excited are to face this new challenge with the Israeli head coach?

I’m really excited, I’ve been a player that has never back down from any challenge or situation. I’m very coachable and I have a chip on my shoulder this season and I think coach Muli will be able to put me in great position to show what I can do but also be successful in a more structured system.

The Eisberen Bremerhaven are very hungry to reach the playoffs again as their last visit was in 2010 as they lost a tough 5 game series to the Fraport Skyliners. The club has a fine roster. When looking at the roster and its talent do you see the playoffs being a goal?

Oh yea, playoffs is always a goal no matter what team I’m on it who is on the roster. It’s going to come down to how much we want it and how well can we play as a team. I can’t really speak on any of my teammates because I don’t know any of them but on paper it looks like we will be a good team this season.

You have played with many fine point guards at Hagen with Davon White, Henry Dugat and Zamal Nixon and now will play with Harvard grad Brandyn Curry who had a fine rookie season in Holland. His goal is to become the best point guard in Europe. I guess the mentality of players at Scorers first think a like?

I guess so. Everybody has their own motivations but at the same time everyone wants to be the best. I think it’s a great mindset to have because you will never be a player to settle for anything less than being the best. You will work harder, train harder and play harder because you want to reach your goal. I only know him from what I read and he is definitely on the right track.

Bremerhaven has more talent than any Phoenix Hagen team ever had and is deeper. Will it be an adjustment for you having to possibly play not only a different style, but also having a reduced role on offense compared to what you had with Phoenix Hagen?

Not at all I’ve played in structure systems and different styles all my career, like I said before I’m very coachable. I’m still going to be able to do the things I do best and that’s rebound the basketball, play defense and score. It’s doesn’t matter what the style it will be, I always find a way to do whatever I can to help my team be successful, limited role or not.

You came to Phoenix Hagen after having strong seasons in Austria and have developed further in the Beko BBL becoming a top 5 player at your position. How do you feel your game has developed in the last three seasons with Phoenix Hagen?

My knowledge of the game has gotten much better. My IQ on offense and defense has increased dramatically over the past 3 years, given me the ability to be able to be even a better versatile player.

What was your fondest memory with Phoenix Hagen? Possibly reaching the playoffs your first season and taking a game from Bamberg?

Yea that year was the most successful year as a team and it was a fun year. We had slot of heart on that team and we fought for every Win to get in that situation. By far my best memory in Hagen.

In three seasons you got to know David Bell well on and off the court? What will you miss the most from Baby Shaq?

Just his fire and intensity. DB was a great teammate, and that fact that we had played together for 3 seasons we both had that do whatever it takes to Win mentality. He will be missed.

How does a summer work out day look like for Larry Gordon in 2015?

Early morning wake up call, give that thanks to God for another day. Breakfast, weight lifting, then go to the gym and get a basketball workout in. Have lunch, chill and then have another session later that night. Basketball never stops in California.

What is the state of Lebron James in 2015? Do you think that he will ever be mentioned in the same breath as Michael Jordan?

Of course he will, he is Lebron. The best player in this generation, just like MJ was in his generation and Kobe was in his generation. The sky is the limit for Lebron, he will be one of the all time greats for sure.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Ant Man.

Thanks Larry for the chat.

Leave a Reply

