Karl Moore (It’s A Good Feeling When Seeing Your Teammates Get An Extra Push From My Energy From The Bench)

Karl Moore is a 203cm forward born in 1987 that recently finished his rookie season for TV 1872 Saarlouis (Germany-ProB) where he played 28 games averaging 16.3ppg, 6.4rpg, 1.0spg, FGP: 60.7%, FT: 73.5%. He scored in double figures in 25 of 28 games including three double doubles. He scored 20 points or more eight times. His bests coring games was 28 points against Hanau and 27 points against BG Karlsruhe. He played college ball at Schoolcraft Community College (JUCO), Rio Grande(NAIA), and Culver Stockton (NAIA). He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Karl thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how have you enjoyed your summer?

Right now I am in my hometown Detroit, Michigan. So far this has been a great summer for me. I hired a personal weight trainer (Juan Mayes). For the last three months he has been putting me through some really good workouts each week (monday-friday). I upload just about every video of me working out unto my facebook page (karl sixfooteight moore). Getting stronger during off season was one of my goals for the summer. Becoming much stronger over the last three months has made my game so much easier for me when being on the court. Over the last two months, I had the pleasure of playing in one of Detroit toughest summer basketball leagues (provin ground basketball). I had the chance of playing against a few other professional players. Drew Maynard who recently finished his season overseas (vaerloese bbk), Derrick Nix who recently finished his season in France (orleans), Deshawn Sims who recently finish his season in lebanon (champvielle), Olaseni Lawal who recently won the super cup, Italian cup, and triple crown in Italy (dinamo basket sassari), Keith Appling who recently signed a two year deal with the Orlando Magics, etc. Playing in a summer league with this much talent made me bring my A game each game. Almost all these talented players came out of Detroit, my work ethic caused me to average higher stats then the majority of the players who participated in this league. I finished the summer league season averaging 23.5 points and 10 rebounds a game while shooting 70% percent from the field (http://www.michiganpremierball.com/stats/team_instance/1241133?subseason=219621&tab=team_instance_player_stats&tool=1389919)

August has rolled by and you are still searching for a team. How has that process been different this summer after a strong rookie season compared to last summer when you came out of college?

I think that process is sort of the same when looking at this year and last year. Here it is August again and I am still waiting for a good contract. The only difference is that l have an agent now (Sevag Keucheyan) to represent me. Last year coming out of college, I represented myself which was difficult. Another difference between this summer and last summer while searching for a team. Is that while waiting last summer, I could understood why it took so long for an opportunity to get my foot in the door because I came from a small division one college. This summer after having a strong rookie season in Germany and dominating one of Michigan toughest summer leagues, I feel as if I have shown those who didn’t quite believe in me that I could have a good professional basketball career.

Last summer you took part in the Basketball Aid tour and displayed your talent and German pro B team Saarlouis scooped you up. If you hadn´t found a team last summer do you believe that your career would have been over or would you have continued looking and possibly played minor leagues in the Unites States?

No, I don’t believe that my career would be over if it wasn’t for the basketball aid tour. I am a religious person and I attended church all my life. In the year of 2012 a great preacher (pastor tony jackson) told me that he once had a vision when he saw me playing basketball in Europe. Between the years of 2012-2014, I faced a lot of adversity but never lost faith and believed what was once said unto me about someday playing ball in Europe. In 2014 when I found out that I was going to be a part of the basketball aid tour. I was told that the tour would only last three weeks and that there was no guarantee that a contract would be given to me. I remember before flying out to Europe, I told my family that I would be away for a whole season. That’s how strong that my faith was in God and how much that I believed in myself.

If you could describe how important the basketball aid tour was for you and mentor Hans Beth how would you translate your success with this experience?

The basketball aid tour was very important for me. It gave me an opportunity to play against pro a, pro b, and regionaliga teams in Germany. Instead of waiting in the states for overseas coaches and management to watch my highlight film. I had the chance in Europe to play hard right in front of them. Hans Beth has been helping me ever since we first met on tour. He has helped before and after my rookie season. He goes out of his way to make sure that Europe hears about the name Karl Moore and I really do appreciate all that he has done for me to be successful.

Last season for Saarlouis you played 28 games averaging 16.3ppg, 6.4rpg, 1.0spg, FGP: 60.7%, FT: 73.5%. Are you surprised that with stats like these that you haven´t landed with at least a club in the German Pro B?

Yes, I am surprised especially with stats like these from a player who played the majority of his games from off the bench. I honestly feel as if by last season being my first year playing professional ball, a whole lot of teams haven’t heard of me yet. I have a good agent (Sevag Keucheyan) who I was referred to by Adam Pensack. Sevag represents players such as Arizona Reed who just won a championship in the Philippines league, Vernon Taylor who just signed to a team in Belgium, Vinnie Bailey who just signed to a top league team in France, etc. It feels good to be a part of an agency with a group of talented individuals but now it’s like ok, I am working hard as well and I am ready for a nice contract too.

The world is vast and so many teams around the world. Has there not been any interest from other countries? A guy with your talent could help many teams around the globe.

I honestly feel like other countries haven’t heard of the name Karl Moore just yet by last season only being my rookie year. I caught the interest of a few teams. Two deals could have been very big for me. One team was a pro a team in Germany. The president (Jens Gottwald) of the Hebeisen White Wings team had sent me a email letting me know that he was interested. Then the team hired a new coach. The new coach came and did his own recruiting. A few weeks later is when I found out that the opportunity I once had no longer existed. Then I caught interest from a top league team in Bulgaria. The head coach and I negotiated over the contract and things seemed to be going smoothly with the deal. A few days later the head coach found out through the team management, that they can only afford to sign local players due to financial problems.

Your individual season was successful, but the season of Saarlouis not so as you fought to stay alive in the play downs. What did you learn from your rookie season on and off the court?

On the court during my rookie season with under a .500 record. I learned that as a team no matter how hard things may become, we must stick together as a unit. Off the court, I learned that when facing adversity, I must keep a professional mindset and continue to carry myself in a professional way at all times.

Germany is pretty Americanized so I am sure you didn´t really experience anything out of the ordinary, but if you had to choose some event which was like a wake up call to being a rookie where you knew that you were far away from Detroit what would it have been last season in Germany?

An event called “Mardi Gras”

You scored in double figures in 25 of 28 games as you demonstrated consistency. What one aspect to do you feel did you greatly improve in your rookie season on the court?

I feel as if I improved on my confidence. In college I used to get discouraged when I saw that I didn’t start at the beginning of the game. During my rookie year in Germany when I noticed how much energy that I brought from off the bench, I began to fall in love with that role. It’s a good feeling when seeing your teammates get an extra push from it.

Last season you played with one of the best German Regionaliga players in the last seven years with Ricky Easterling. What was your fondest memory on the court with him and where do you rank him with your best all time teammates?

The most fondest game on the court with Ricky was the game we played on January 17th against the Hebeisen White Wings team. Our team finished the game with 86 points and together Ricky and I had 60+ points combined. We were like the splash brothers (steph and thompson) that game. Ricky is the best teammate that I ever played with. He is a true leader and knows the game of basketball well. He has taught me a lot on and off the court. Seeing how he carries himself shows me why he is a fan favorite type of player. I just wish that I can see him play in a higher league so that he can continue to get scoring titles but I know that it is his decision to stay with the same team the he started with and that I can respect.

Did you ever see someone shoot a better off balance mid distance jumper than Ricky Easterling?

Ricky is the only person that I know personally who I seen mastered that type of jump shot. A lot of that comes from muscle memory and going to the gym and putting in extra work. His mentor Chris Cummings was also a great shooter and has taught him well.

If you could describe your game in a few sentences as to why you could help any team this season how would you do it?

I’m a coachable player. I naturally bring energy to the floor. I’m very competitive and passionate on what I do. I am 6’8, fast, and athletic. I take pride in guarding the opponent best player. I can play the 3-5 position and can guard any position 1-5.

Was that more friendly jiving that you had with TV Langen forward Martinis Woody last season on the social media or was that serious?

The situation between me and Martinis Woody was friendly. We are both competitor players so of course there was going to be a little friendly trash talk before going into a big game. During the game, I had the mindset of treating him as of if he was taking food off my family plate. After the game everything was back cool between me and him.

How does a summer work out day look like for Karl Moore in the summer of 2015?

Every evening Monday through Friday is a grind for me. I go into every workout with the mentally of somebody is somewhere right now working harder than me. Rather I am outside in 85 degree weather running up and down stairs/hills or in the weight room lifting weights, I’m go push myself. If I am slicking a little bit on that day, I have an excellent trainer that is going to make sure that I push myself.

Where do you see the journey of the Detroit Pistons ending this season in the NBA? Can they be a playoff team?

Yes, I can see them making the playoffs this season. They had a very good first round draft pick. They have a good coach and it seems as if most of the players want to bring that “bad boy” mentality back into the city. I can see them finishing at least at the 7th or 8th seed. The east coast is much easier to make it into the playoffs then the west.

What is the state of Lebron James in 2015? Do you ever see him being truly being mentioned in the same breath as Michael Jordan?

The mindset of Lebron James is incredible. His work ethic is fantastic and he is steady breaking records during regular season and playoffs. I love his leadership and how he walk in humility. Yes, I can see him being mentioned in the same breath as Michael Jordan because he is the Michael Jordan of our generation.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The last movie that I saw was “Inside Out” it is a kid movie. I actually took my daughter to the movie theatre to see it. I am a family orientated man. I know how it feels to grow up without a father so I make it a priority to make sure that my daughter never have that same feeling. I enjoy spending time with her. She is the reason why I keep pushing myself. If I don’t work, she don’t eat. My baby got to eat so I’m go continue to work under any circumstances!

Thanks Karl for the chat.

Leave a Reply

