Braydon Hobbs (Giessen 46ers) I Wanted To Play With Giessen Because Of How They Carried Themselves On The Court

Braydon Hobbs is a 24 year old 196cm point guard that just completed his third professional season and first in Germany with rent4office Nuernberg (Germany-ProA) where he averaged 11,9ppg, 4.1rpg, Assists-4(5.9apg), Steals-2(1.9spg), FGP: 55.8%, 3PT: 40.8%, FT: 82.4% . He started his basketball career in 2008 with Bellarmine (NCAA2) playing a total of 133 games. He turned professional in 2012 and played for Caceres Basket (Spain-LEB Gold, starting five): 35 games: 7.1ppg, 2.8rpg, 1.9apg, 1.6spg, FGP: 41.9%, 3PT: 34.7%, FT: 87.9%. In 2013-2014 he played for Alba Fehervar (Hungary-A Division, starting five): Eurocup: 10 games: 11.9ppg, 3.1rpg, 3.6apg, 1.7spg, FGP: 40.4%, 3PT: 52.3%; Hungarian League: 32 games: 9.1ppg, 4.2rpg, 3.4apg, Steals-2(2.3spg), FGP: 52.8%, 3PT: 32.7%, FT: 72.7%. He also played three summers professionally in Australia. He spoke to German Hoops after signing with the Giessen 46ers for the 2015-2016 season.

Braydon thanks for talking to German Hoops again. You are playing your third summer in the last four in Australia. What makes you keep coming back down under?

I keep coming back here to Australia because the country is awesome. I can stay in shape by doing this as well. It’s a fun get away and I enjoy playing year around.

How do you feel has your time in Australia helped your game most in the last summers which you might not necessarily have had in the States doing the normal work out grind?

I think playing here during the summers has kept me in good shape and it is more of a laid back league but I can get into the gym any time I want to work on my game. It keeps me playing competitive competition as well which I think helps.

You are playing for the Mackay Meteors (Australia-QBL) for the second time and currently the team is 4-0. What is it like playing with only Australian players? Do you sense that they look up to the lone American?

It’s not different at all playing with all Australians. I’m on a solid team here where we all contribute something positive to the team. It’s no different than playing with European players. I enjoy the guys here and I think that’s another reason I keep coming back.

In the 107-90 win against Gold Coast you dished out nine assists mainly because your shot wasn´t falling as you finished with two points on 0/8 shooting from downtown. You did go 2/9 against Giessen last season, but do you ever remember going 0/8 in a game or something close to that?

I’ve definitely had bad shooting nights before. That is part of the game. Every player has gone through it. As long as the team wins and I can contribute something positive then that is all that matters. It’s not all about shooting and making shots.

You were the Pro A player of the year and belonged to the most effective players last season. However as a player one is never satisfied about their game and always strive to improve. Do you use your time in Australia now to work on parts of your game that need improvement in game type situations?

Every summer or offseason away from Europe players try to improve. That’s definitely true with me as well. I definitely want to improve parts of my game that I struggle with. Mainly my defense. It can always improve.

Congrats on signing with the Giessen 46ers. After a very strong Pro A season where you averaged 11.9ppg, 4.1rpg, Assists-4(5.9apg), Steals-2(1.9spg), FGP: 55.8%, 3PT: 40.8%, FT: 82.4%, you were rewarded with a BBL contract. What were the main reasons for choosing Giessen as your new team?

One of the main reasons I wanted to play with Giessen was because of how they carried themselves on the court. Last season they really played as a team and I noticed that quickly. They always found the open man on offense but played great team defense as well. Hopefully we can do that again this year.

How much of a role did head coach Denis Wucherer have in making your decision easier? What kind of impression did you get of him during the 5 games last season where you were 0-5 with Nurnberg?

He played a pretty big role. I liked what he had to say when we discussed things over the phone. I also liked how he had his team poised and ready for every game. Especially in the playoffs where I don’t think they lost a game. He knows the game too because he used to play so hopefully that can carry over to the season coming up

How excited are you to be teammates with Cameron Wells. You guys are different kind of players, but compliment each other very well. What do you respect most from the game of the Texas native?

I’m definitely looking forward to playing with Cameron. He makes everyone around him better. He creates for guys and makes their lives a lot easier. I respect how well he defends as well. It should be fun playing along side him.

The BBL belongs to the top 5 leagues in Europe. What are you most looking forward to when you begin play in the highest German league?

I’m looking forward to the challenge that we have ahead of ourselves. Every game we play will be a battle. Everyone will consider us underdogs but I think we will be up for the challenge. Hopefully we can stick together as a team and take one game at a time.

What was most overwhelming about the MCG stadium in Melbourne?

The most overwhelming thing about the MCG was probably the amount of people that were there. 83,000 plus fans is crazy.

If Lebron can pull out the 2015 NBA title, many have said that he would be in the same league with Michael Jordan. Would you agree?

It would be unreal if Lebron could pull this one out this year, but I still believe Jordan is in a league of his own.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

The last DVD movie that I watched was Gladiator.

Thanks Braydon for the chat.

Leave a Reply

