Terrico White (Enisey Krasnoyarsk) Being Fearless On The Court Came From My Childhood Where I Didn´t Want Anybody To Be Better Than Me

Terrico White is a 24 year old 196cm guard form Memphis Tennessee that is playing his fifth professional season and first for Enisey Krasnoyarsk (Russia-VTB). He played at Mississippi (NCAA)from 2008-2010 and as a senior played 35 games: 15.1ppg, 4.6rpg, 1.5apg, FGP: 43.0%, 3PT: 34.3%, FT: 71.4%. He was drafted by the Detroit Pistons in 2010 at #36 in the second round. As a rookie he fractured his foot and couldn´t play. In the 2011-2012 season he played for Idaho Stampede (D-League, starting five): 18 games: 12.6ppg, 3.3rpg, 1.3apg, FGP: 53.2%, 3PT: 35.6%, FT: 62.2%. In the 2012-2013 season he moved to Europe and played for Radnicki Kragujevac (Serbia-A League, starting five): 12 games: 14.8ppg, 4.2rpg, 1.3apg, FGP: 61.7%, 3PT: 28.6%, FT: 72.5%; Adriatic League: 27 games: 14.4ppg, 5.0rpg, 1.5apg, 1.5spg, FGP: 53.0%, 3PT: 33.0%, FT: 56.7%. Last season he played for Royal Hali Gaziantep (Turkey-TBL): 12 games: 3.4ppg, 1.8rpg; EuroChallenge: 9 games: 5.6ppg, 2.8rpg, 2FGP: 45.0%, 3FGP: 36.0%, FT: 71.4%, in Feb.’14 moved to Hapoel Eilat (Israel-Winner League, starting five): 15 games: 14.1ppg, 3.9rpg, 1.9apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 53.2%, 3PT: 43.2%, FT: 84.2%. He spoke to German Hoops before game one of the Eurochallenge quarterfinals against the Fraport Skyliners.

You are playing your first season for Enisey Krasnoyarsk (Russia-VTB). How would you compare the style of play between the Turkish and Israel leagues where you balled last season with the VTB league.

This is the first time I have played on a team mainly with Russian players, but in general I feel that the style of basketball is the same. It doesn´t matter in what country you are, basketball is basketball.

Currently Enisey Krasnoyarsk (Russia-VTB) is one of the teams near the end of the standings. Why has the team had difficulty this season not being able to have a better record? Has the injury of Kosta Perovic been a reason?

I don´t think that not having Perovic has been the reason. We have had lulls in the VTB league all season long. There have been 7-10 games that we have lost by 4-5 points. We take a 10-15 point lead in the first half and then fall apart in the second half. We just haven´t been focused the way we should.

You have played in more than eight countries this season in VTB and Eurochallenge play. Has the travel taken a toll on the team now in the late stage of the season? Is the body starting to feel it?

Yes it has. We have to fly to Moscow on each road trip which is a five hour flight and then our journey continues. It is a tough travel schedule.

One always hears about wacky travel stories, but you must have a story this season about visiting a country?

We have traveled much, but I don´t really have a crazy story. We always came back home safely.

Enisey Krasnoyarsk (Russia-VTB) now play German team Fraport Skyliners in a best of three series with you possibly making two 12 hour flights to Frankfurt? What kind of series can we await?

We will see what happens in game one, but we really want to steal that. We would like to close out the series at home.

The team has six players that are 203cm or taller, but no one grabs more than 5,2rpg in the Eurochallenge and have three players shooting 40% or better from outside. What is the teams biggest strength?

I think our biggest strength is shooting the ball. Every guy from the point guard position to the center can shoot the three pointer.

You have been called extremely confident, bordering on fearless. Where have you got this confidence factor from?

It started early on when I was growing up. I was always competing against my friends and cousins at all kinds of sports and I didn´t want anybody to be better than me. That is where that fearless trait came about.

You are an aggressive offensive player capable of scoring off the dribble by blowing by his man or knocking down outside shots, excellent pull up off the dribble as well as a fierce crossover and you have a solid in between game. But what is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?

A hidden strength in my game is my defense. I think my presence out on the floor and knowing when to help gets overlooked as well as my point guard skills. I have usually always played the two, but I have point guard ability.

Your teammate last season was ex NBA player Ernest Bremer. How often did the conversation of the NBA come about? Was he able to give you some new tips about making a possible new run to the NBA?

He didn´t give me any new tips on how to get back to the NBA. He mainly helped me about my career in Europe. When he was my teammate it was only my second season in Europe and I was still learning. He has played in many countries and cities and told me where to go and where not to.

After two seasons in the NBA and D-League you came to Europe in 2012 and played for Radnicki Kragujevac (Serbia-A League). What was your wake up call to playing your first season overseas where you knew ok this is a lot different than back home?

I scored 36 points in a game and in the next game I was injured because an opponent tried to hurt me on purpose. I tried to steal a ball missed, but my teammate picked up the ball and as I turned around to run down the court the opponent struck me in my shin. He literally tried to take me out. It was a scary moment, but I am glad I wasn´t seriously hurt.

In your second professional season you played with Idaho Stampede (D-League, starting five): 18 games: 12.6ppg, 3.3rpg, 1.3apg, FGP: 53.2%, 3PT: 35.6%, FT: 62.2%. What kind of experience was the D-League. Will you ever come back to try for the NBA or is European basketball your focus now?

I haven´t given up on the NBA. I am happy in Europe being able to play the game I love and making good money, but if the right opportunity arises then I wouldn´t hesitate going back to the States.

You played two seasons at the University of Mississippi under head coach Andy Kennedy. How did he prepare you best for a professional career?

He was a great man and he and his coaching staff really helped me get ready for a professional basketball career. They always stayed on me to keep working hard day and night on basketball on and off the court.

What memories do you have of the u-19 world championships in New Zealand in 2009. Did you come across any players there that reached the NBA now?

I remember playing against the two current Houston Rockets Donatas Motiejunas of Lithuania and Kostas Papanikolaous of Greece. I had great teammates that are in the NBA or were now with Gordon Hayward, Darius Miller, Shelvin Mack and Klay Thompson

What memories do you have of teammate Chris Warren? A guy that put up great stats, but never reached the NBA?

There were so many great memories with Chris, but what stands out most was our NIT Final 4 run. We lost to Dayton in New York at Madison Square Garden. That was an unforgettable moment for me.

You had a 90 mile an hour fast ball in high school. Did you ever consider a professional baseball career?

I never thought about having a career of it even though my mom really wanted me to. I actually had a 85-90 mile an hour fast ball at age 13 with a variety of pitches. But I was throwing too much at a young age and my arm started to hurt so I gave it up.

You have amazing dunking abilities. Which dunker was your role model growing up?

Michael Jordan and Vince Carter.

Who was the best player that you guarded in the NCAA that is in the NBA now?

Eric Bledsoe

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Ocean 13

Thanks Terrico for the chat.

Leave a Reply

