Tom Alte (TV Langen) I Am A Better Shooter Than What I Get Credit For

Tom Alte is a 20 year old 205cm German center playing his second season for TV Langen. He started his basketball career with KIT SC Karlsruhe (Regionalliga) in 2012. Last season for TV Langen he played 12 games: 0.5ppg, 1.2rpg, played also for Schoder Junior-Giraffen Langen (NBBL). He spoke to German Hoops after the 88-67 loss against the Fraport Skyliners Juniors.

Tom thanks for talking to German Hoops. What were the main reasons for the 88-67 loss against the Fraport Skyliners Juniors?

We had problems with our pick and role defense. Frankfurt stayed aggressive hitting shots against our zone. We also had some unneeded technical fouls that hurt us

Niklas Kiel is two years younger than you. What has been your impression of his game and how much potential does he have?

Kiel has a lot of potential and can really go far. He is big, can move and shoot. He has all the tools to go far.

TV Langen still has every chance to reach the playoffs. On what things does the club still need to work on most to get this goal?

 

We simply need to win games. I think that we have a good team and chemistry. We have to learn to stay concentrated and focused and if we get some bad calls not to lose focus. We need to play for 40 minutes the way we did in Karlsruhe and Speyer.

 

 

How damaging was it losing Filmore Beck? Do you believe the club would have won more games at this point?

 

That is hard to say. Our game is different without Filmore. He took many shots when he was with us. Now without him we have more shots. We have proven since he left that we can win games without him.

 

 

This is your second season with TV Langen. What were the main reasons for going from KIT SC Karlsruhe (Regionalliga) to TV Langen?

 

 

Fabien Villmeter got me to come to TV Langen. I liked the program in Langen. It is a place where young players develop further.

 

Coming into the game in Frankfurt you were averaging 20 minutes per game. On what things did you work on last summer and improve in your game that has led to you getting so many more minutes than last season?

 

I worked on gaining weight and becoming more of a physical player. I also worker further on my technical skills like shooting and ball handling.

 

 

You have become a type of second go to guy in the last four games averaging 16 points and nine rebounds. How much has the injury to American Nick Freer helped you become more of an offensive option?

 

Nick was averaging 17ppg when he left. With him out of the lineup there were more free shots for us to take. I was able to take more shots and got the confidence of the coach. Coach didn´t get mad if I took a bad shot. I was still able to take shots even if I missed one or two.

 

 

You have been playing great the last four games. How comfortable are you being an important offensive option?

 

I feel comfortable having had more of a scoring role. I didn´t have to be shy to take shots, now I had to take shots.

 

 

It hasn´t been the easiest of seasons for American Martinis Woody. He was doubled teamed much this season. How much did his slow start help you get going in your game?

 

Woody was defended well all season and double teamed. After two strong years with us, teams took notice of his good play. But he has the eye out of the low post to find his teammates. He also does a good job finding me inside.

 

 

What kind of experience has it been for you playing with Martinis Woody? How has he helped your game this season?

 

It is fun being the teammate of Woody. I have learned so much from him about how to play in the low post. We train together a lot and he has shown me many moves and how I should use my body best in the low post. Woody isn´t the most athletic player, but he always finds a way to score.

 

You are a player that is very strong around the rim. What is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t always get noticed right away?

 

I think that I am a better shooter than what I get credit for. I score much on the offensive rebound and transition. But I am working more on my shot so that I can use that more in the future.

 

 

 

 

How has head coach Dejan Kostic helped you develop your game this season? What has been his most important piece of advice that has helped your game?

 

Coach gave me confidence from the start inserting me in the starting five. He gives me the freedom to shoot. I am allowed to make mistakes. Only this way I can improve learning from my mistakes.

 

 

 

Your teammate Jan Moritz Overdick recently played at the 2015 NBBL Allstar game. He also has seen good minutes this season. You may only be two years older than him, but are you a type of a mentor for him?

 

We are good friends and do a lot of individual training together. I don´t think that I am a mentor for him. We learn from each other in practice and games.

 

 

How does the future look for you? I heard you want to go to college in the States?

 

I am not sure yet if I will stay in Germany or go to the States to college. I will make this decision in the next months.

 

 

 

 

 

In Karlsruhe you played together with young German Michael Baumer. What was your fondest memory with him on and off the court?

 

It was a lot of fun playing with him in Karlsruhe. He is a quick athletic player that can always find his teammates.

 

 

Who has been the toughest player that you have ever played against so far in your career?

 

No guy has really taken me apart.

 

 

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

 

Big Bang Theory.

 

Thanks Tom for the chat.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

