William Hatcher (Proximus Spirou) As A Rookie With Rhondorf I Talked Trash With Marcin Gortat Who Said You Wont Ever Score On Me

William Hatcher is a 30 year old 188cm guard from Flint, Michigan that is playing his ninth professional season and first for Proximus Spirou. He started his basketball career with Miami, OH (NCAA) in 2002 where he played until 2006 playing a total of 102 NCAA games and as a senior played 29 games ScoreMAC-8(14.3ppg), 2.9rpg, AssistsMAC-6(4.3apg), 1.2spg, FGP: 42.4%, 3PT: 34.9%, FTMAC-6(81.3%): Finished career ranked ninth on Miami’s career 3-point shooting chart with a .383 shooting percentage. In the 2006-2007 season he started his professional basketball career with SOBA Dragons Rhoendorf (Germany-2.Bundesliga): 30 games: 18.5ppg, 2.6rpg, 5.0apg, 1.5spg, 2FGP: 56.3%, 3FGP: 34.8%, FT: 73.5%. In the 2007-2008 season he played for CSU Atlassib Sibiu (Romania-Div.A) playing 20 games: 16.3ppg, 2.2rpg, 2.1apg, 1.5spg, 2FGP: 55.1%, 3PT: 36.4%, FT: 71.8%. He then played for BK Decin from 2008-2011. In the 2011-2012 season he played for Keravnos Strovolou (Cyprus-Division A) Cyprus League: 14 games: 12.6ppg; EuroChallenge: 6 games: 13.5ppg, 1.2rpg, 2.5apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 50.0%, 3PT: 26.9%, FT: 80.0%, in Apr.’12 moved to Altshuler Saham Galil Gilboa (Israel-Premier League) 6 games: 10.0ppg, 2.5rpg, 3.2apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 36.8%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT: 66.7%. In the 2012-2013 season he played for PAOK Thessaloniki (Greece-A1): 24 games: 10.3ppg, 2.1rpg, 2.1apg, FGP: 40.3%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT: 78.0%. Last season he played for STB Le Havre (France-ProA): 30 games: 12.2ppg, 1.9rpg, Assists-3(4.8apg), FGP: 42.3%, 3PT: 34.4%, FT: 71.9%. He spoke to German Hoops before the Eurocup game against the EWE Baskets Oldenburg.

William thanks for talking to German  Hoops. Welcome back to Germany. How does it feel to be back again.

It feels good to be back In Germany. I am in a totally different position now then 8 years ago when I started my career in Rhondorf. I have become a better player and evolved as a player since then.

Your playing your first season with Proximus Spirou (Belgium-Scooore League) Sometimes as players get older one wants to get settled, but you keep changing teams each season. One could call you basketball Europe trotter. Is there a particular reason why you like to be on the move?

I played three years in the Czech Republic for BK Decin, but since then I have been on the move. I always want to improve as a player and I know I can always play at a better level. I want to always take a step forward and am never satisfied. I mostly was asked to return back to my team, but I just continued to look to better myself somewhere else.

 

 

Proximus Spirou (Belgium-Scooore League) started the season at 3-3. What have been the main reasons for the up and down start?

 

I have only played three games as I came in late. We lost our big man Will Hudson who was leading us in scoring and rebounding and we have a lot of young guys as well. We have two games a week and less time to prepare against those teams that only play once a week. We are starting to gel now and hit our stride. I think that we will turn it around.

 

 

The club is packed with very experienced point guards with Andre Collins, ex NBA player Zabian Dowdell and yourself. Is the most talented bunch of point guards that you have played with in your career?

 

These two guys are the best set of guards that I have ever played with. We are very experienced at the guard position. Our practices are made better with our experience and leadership. We try to lead by example.

 

What exactly is your role on a team that has so many offensive weapons?

 

My role is to come out and try to set the tone on the floor for the team on both ends of the court and make sure that we are well organized. Often I have to guard the other teams shooting guard and I just try to put as much pressure and energy on both ends of the court.

 

 

Loic Schwartz is a talented Belgium player on your team that is a national player. How much potential does he have and how does he help the team most?

 

Loik is a very talented player and interesting to watch. He has a lot of potential and can go as far as he wants to. He is very athletic and can shoot the ball, but still needs to learn things. The Eurocup play gives him more experience and the added minutes also will help him develop better

 

 

You next face the EWE Baskets Oldenburg that is 0-3 in Eurocup play while Proximus Spirou (Belgium-Scooore League) is 1-2. What kind of game can we expect?

 

We watched the last Oldenburg Eurocup game against Nancy and we expect a very tough game and physical game from them. They have lost three games and know that they have to win in order to have better chances of qualifying. We will bring a lot of intensity right from the start.

 

You have played all over Europe in countries like France, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Israel or Romania. Was there one style of basketball in your career so far that you have enjoyed most and adjusted to best?

 

I have liked the French style the most in Europe. They play a lot of up and down basketball and pick and role. The league has a lot of athletic wings and power forwards that can shoot the ball with the best of them. I also enjoyed the Greek league as that is more of a tactical league and slow down style. The Greek league is very different than the other leagues especially when you have to play against structured teams Like Athens and Olympiakos. I learned the most in the Greek league.

 

You played last season in France for Le Havre with American Rashad Anderson who played with many great future NBA players at Connecticut (NCAA) and won the NCAA title in 2004. He also has had solid stats wherever he has played. What was missing from an NBA call up?

 

I am not sure why he didn´t get a call up. Your going to have to ask NBA Gm´s. In my time in France with him, he showed that he can shoot with the best of them. It is strange, because often an NBA team signs a player that can do one thing very well. He was close a few times knocking on the NBA door as he played on top teams early in his career and played in the D-league.

 

 

You played three seasons for BK Decin in the Czech Republic. How did your game develop here in those three years?

 

I became more of a complete guard in my three years at Decin. My main focus my first year was scoring and that was my bests coring season in the Czech Republic. My coach did a good job wanting me to evolve my game and try to become more of a complete player. He helped me develop my defense and be more of a team player instead of always having my focus on scoring. My three years there helped me to later in my career play better with better talent and play at both ends of the court. I still have contact to him today.

 

 

You came to Germany in 2006 after having a solid college career at Miami.Ohio(NCAA) and finished with career ranked ninth on Miami’s career 3-point shooting chart with a .383 shooting percentage. As a rookie you played for the SOBA Dragons Rhoendorf (Germany-2.Bundesliga) playing 30 games averaging 18.5ppg, 2.6rpg, 5.0apg, 1.5spg, 2FGP: 56.3%, 3FGP: 34.8%, FT: 73.5%. What was your wake up call to being a professional?

 

When I got to Germany in 2006, I right away played in a pre season tournament called the Rhine Main cup. We played against BBL teams like Frankfurt, Bonn and Cologne. I remember being matched up against Jason Gardner and Demond Mallet. I remember going against future NBA player Marcin Gortat in the pick and role where he switched and I hit a move on him and got around him. I shot a floater and he blocked it and we talked some trash and Gortat was saying, you wont ever score on me. That was the moment where I knew I had arrived as a professional.

 

 

Your teammate at Rhondorf was Chris Rojik. What was your fondest memory with him?

 

He was a really good guy and already older and more experienced. He was there for all my questions. I asked him everything about international basketball and things about life like how to hook up the phone and where to get food. Chris was the guy that I leaned on.

 

 

 

At Miami. Ohio you(NCAA) played with Americans Nathan Peavy and Danny Horace who both played in the BBL in Germany. What were your fondest memories of them on and off the court?

 

Those were good times. Peavy was a year younger than me and Horace a year older. The practices were always competitive, but as soon as practice was over we hung out a lot. Horace is still playing in South America and Peavy was rehabbing after being injured with Alba Berlin.

 

 

 

Against Zabian Dowdell or Andre Collins do you have the better chance of winning a one on one duel?

 

I haven´t seen Zabian yet as he is injured. Andre and I have good battles in practice.

 

Where will the journey of the Detroit Pistons end this season?

 

We have been bad for years and are rebuilding. WE have some pieces and I think we can be good. I hope we can get an eighth seed and use that as a stepping stone for the next years

 

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

 

The Ben Affleck movie Gone Girl. It was long, but a great movie with some crazy things.

 

Thanks William for the chat.

 

 

Leave a Reply

