Nick Freer (TV Langen) I Can Adjust To Many Styles Of Play

Nick Freer is a 28 year old 198 cm shooting guard/small forward from Stevensville, Michigan that is playing his first season for TV Langen. He played at E.Michigan (NCAA) from 2004-2007 and then transfered to Grand Valley St. (NCAA2). In his senior yearthere, he played 37 games: 7.0ppg, 3.4rpg, 1.0apg, FGP: 48.5%, 3PT: 29.2%, FT: 77.9%.He started his professional basketball career in 2009 for the Holland Blast (IBL) and then In March 2010 signed at Newcastle Hunters (Australia-ABA) playing 21 games averaging 22.7ppg, 9.0rpg, 1.8apg, 2FGP: 41.8%, 3PT: 35.3%, FT: 80.5%. In 2010-2011, he played for the TV 1864 Salzkotten (Germany-Regionalliga) and the Southwest Slammers (Australia-SBL).In 2011-2012 he played for the Webmoebel Baskets Paderborn (Germany-ProA) playing 29 games: 10.3ppg, 2.4rpg, 1.2apg, FGP: 53.6%, 3PT: 39.1%, FT: 85.2%. In 2012-2013 he played for the Uni-Riesen Leipzig (Germany-ProA) playing b30 games: 12.1ppg, 3.5rpg, 1.6apg, 2FGP: 55.9%, 3FGP: 31.3%, FT: 73.1%. Last season he played for the London Lions (United Kingdom-BBL): 15 games: 9.7ppg, 5.3rpg, 1.3apg, 2FGP: 55.7%, 3FGP: 36.8%, FT: 72.2%, in Feb.’14 moved to Surrey United (United Kingdom-BBL) playing 11 games: 16.5ppg, 4.9rpg, 2.8apg, FGP: 49.2%, 3PT: 25.0%, FT: 82.1%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Since our last interview in 2011, how has your game developed further?

I have played in many places, but I think my game has stayed pretty much the same as I have seen many different styles and always had to adapt. In Leipzig I struggled a bit at the start, but finished strong. The next season, I went to London and that team had very good players and I was more of a role player. I then moved to Surrey and was the main guy. I just try to be aggressive and give my athletic game wherever I play.

What memories do you have from your season in Paderborn? You showed that you had no problems adjusting to the German Pro A coming from the German Regionaliga.

Paderborn had a real good group of guys. Coach Glasauer did a good job getting all his players adjusted in his system.

How much fun was it playing with Jefferson Mason. Recently you were opponents in the German Pro B as he plays for Hanau.

 It was great. I think we both helped each other in practice. Mason likes to attack while I like to spot up. We had some good battles in practice.

You also played in Leipzig. Was the former East Germany anything that you expected?

 

It was nothing what I expected. I was actually scared going in, but I ended loving it there. It was an awesome experience. I expected to see more old buildings, but there were many modern buildings. If I had not had that offer from England, I probably would have returned.

 

You played in the BBL last season in England. How would you compare it to the German leagues`

 

The BBL there has very good players. There is a big difference between the top 8 teams and the bottom teams. The first four teams are like lower level German BBL teams, but overall the level is similar to the German Pro A.

 

Last season your teammate was Rod Brown who played at Western Michigan who is a rival of your old school Eastern Michigan. What conversation did you have with him concerning college ball in Michigan?

 

Brown is older and played at a time when the MAC conference was very strong with guys like Earl Boykins. Central Michigan is the other rival school with us is where Chris Kaman played. Western Michigan won most times though.

 

Why did you chose to come to TV Langen?

 

My girlfriend got a job in Frankfurt and Thomas Glasauer recommended me to Jogi Barth.

 

You played two seasons in the German Pro A and now are playing in the German Pro B. Is this like a step back for you?

 

Langen is just another opportunity for me to play. The level is just different. I am not mad, but disappointed that there is no Pro A team in the area where I might have got a try-out.

 

Martins Woody has had a tough start to the season. How have you helped him in these rough times?

 

Teams have been taking him out of games and he really wants to perform. I try to take pressure off him and score. I also try to help him by adjusting to his style. Our play together is like when I played with John Bowler at Eastern Michigan.

 

What is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get recognized right away?

 

Just being able to adjust too many styles.

 

How much potential do young German Tom Alte and Jona Hoffmann have?

 

Tom Alte will be a very good player. Key is that he wants to learn and feels he doesn´t know it all yet. Hoffmann is coming along, but he is still very young at age 16. I like trying to help young players. They are shy at times to come forward, but Woody and I voice ourselves.

 

Who hits more shots from the corner you or Filmore Beck?

 

I am trying to get Filmore to shoot and not penetrate as much. I think it would be pretty even. It depends on the day. I am a streaky shooter so I would give it to Filmore.

 

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

 

The new Ninja Turtles movie.

 

Thanks Nick for the chat.

 

 

Leave a Reply

