Face To Face With Cameron Wells (Giessen 46ers)

Cameron Wells is a 26 year old 186cm point guard from Houston, Texas that is playing his third professional season and first with the Giessen 46ers. He played at Citadel (NCAA) from 2007-2011 where he finished as the school´s alltime leading scorer and as a senior played 32 games averaging 17.2ppg, 5.1rpg, 4.3apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 43.7%, 3PT: 24.7%, FT: 82.7%. He started his professional basketball career in 2011 with Landstede Basketbal Zwolle (Holland-Eredivisie) playing 36 games: 14.0ppg, 3.9rpg, Assists-4(3.6apg), Steals-1(2.4spg), FGP: 45.5%, 3PT: 30.0%, FT: 78.1%. Two seasons ago he played for the Walter Tigers Tuebingen (Germany-BBL) playing 29 games and averaging 6.0ppg, 2.0rpg, 1.6apg, FGP: 43.1%, 3PT: 31.6%, FT: 82.7%. He spoke to German Hoops about Basketball.

After tearing your ACL last season how happy were to make your debut in a Giessen jersey?

I was really excited to play again. I was all smiles before the game. I am just happy and relieved to be able to play the game that I love.

What exactly is your role with the Giessen 46ers?

My role is to be a leader and as the point guard get all my teammates involved and just get the team going.

You didn´t play as much with American Eric Palm on the floor, but still how much fun is it playing toegther with this sharp shooter?

Palm is a great shooter that can also pass the ball. He is a great teammate, but we are still meshing together.

How impressed have you been with 16 year old Niklas Bilski?

That guy has a lot of potential and isn´t afraid to make mistakes. He is always trying to get better and just be involved. I think that he can turn out into a good player.

Two seasons ago you played with the Walter Tigers Tuebingen in the Beko BBL. What memories do you have of the crushing 107-71 win in Giessen? I guess your happy now to have the Giessen fans behind you?

To be honest I don´t remember much from that game, but more after the game. We stopped at KFC and all got buckets. We celebrated all the way home to Tuebingen.

When Johannes Lischka arrived in Giessen, what was the first thing you said to him?

 We looked at ecah other and were whats up? I had heard that he had sustained a brain tumour. I am glad he is ok and back on the court. He was one of the best German players when I was with Tuebingen. He is a very versatile player. I think once he is his old self, he will make better results.

 

How has the game of Lischka changed since Tuebingen?

 

He is slower and that first step isn´t as quick anymore. He needs time to get his footing back.

 

How satisfying was the Tuebingen 99-69 win against Phoenix Hagen two seasons ago where you had your best game with 21 points while top BBL guard Davin White only had 16 points?

 

I remember that game. I had a very good game. The coach kept giving me the ball and my confidence rose as well. I took that game and tried to improve off it. I thought that that game showed that I could play in the BBL.

 

In 2012 you played NBA Summer league for the Milwaukee Bucks. Are you abit disappointed that you didn´t get more minutes?

 

Yes, but it was a good experience. I really enjoyed it and it was a very humbling experience when you see where your trying to get to and how difficult that is. I just saw the experience as a time to keep improving my game and being more consistent.

 

You were the alltime leading scorer at Citadel(NCAA) in the All Southeren Conference and you matched the stats of NBA guys like Stephen Curry and Andrew Goudelock. Why do you think that the NBA was never in your cards like it was fort hem?

 

I don´t really know, but those guys got a lot more exposure. Curry went to the tournament and Goudelock was player of the year. They always worked very hard and deserved to reach the NBA.

 

What is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t always get recognized?

 

My three point shooting has improved. Off ball screens.

 

Who is the best player that you played against in the NCAA that is in the NBA now?

 

Stephen Curry who always had good numbers when he played us.

 

Who hits more three pointers in the corner, you or Josh Young?

 

Me. I would make more.

 

Where will the journey oft he Houston Rockets end this season?

 

They have changed some things.  They Lost Parsons. It will depend what Harden and Howard can do.

 

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

 

Bad Boys with Will Smith.

 

Thanks Cameron for the chat.

Leave a Reply

