Keoni Watson (When I Played For John Patrick In Goettingen It Was One Of My Best Times In Europe)

 

Keoni Watson is a 30 year old 178cm point guard from San Diego, California that has been a professional basketball player since 2007. He played at Idaho (NCAA) and as a senior played  30 games averaging 18.1ppg, 3.0rpg, 2.2apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 43.9%, 3Pts: 40.5%, FT: 77.8%. In 2007-2008 as a rookie he has his first basketball experience in Germany with ASC 46 Goettingen (Germany- 2.Regionalliga) playing 7 games: 44.3ppg, in Nov.’07 moved to BG 74 Goettingen (Germany-1.Bundesliga): 9 games: 6.1ppg, 2FGP: 31.6%, 3PT: 70.6%, FT: 77.8%, left in Jan.’08, then agreed terms with Swisslion Pelister Bitola (FYR Macedonia-Superleague). From 2008-2011 he played in North American for teams like  Rio Grande Valley Vipers (D-League), San Diego Surf(ABA) and  Coras de Tepic (Mexico-CIBACOPA). In 2011-2012 he came back to Germany and played for t RSV Eintracht Stahnsdorf (Germany-ProB) playing 18 games: 17.8ppg, 1.8rpg, 3.6apg, 2.1spg, FGP: 44.8%, 3PT: 34.3%, FT: 78.4%. In the last two years he played for the San Diego Surf (ABA),Texas Surge (ABL) and recently for Industriales de San Jose (Mexico-LNB). He spoke to Germsn Hoops about basketball.

Keoni, thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you and how has your summer been?

Thanks for having me I am in San Diego California and my summer was good spend a lot of time with my family so that’s always good.

After playing for RSV Eintracht Stahnsdorf in the 2011-2012 season, you have been in North America in the last two seasons. How much would you like to play in Europe again?

Yes I was in America. I want to play back in Europe so bad I’ll give my right arm lol there’s nothing like Europe basketball especially in Germany.

You last played for  Industriales de San Jose. It was the sedcond time that you had played in Mexico after playing for Coras de Tepic. What kind of experience was it playing in Mexico again and playing on a team only with Mexicans?

 

Yes I had played in Mexico last season and avg. 27 points 5 ast. a game. Mexico was a great experience hot year around. I like the culture. Mexico rules are a little different than Europe but it was great experience

 

 

 

When you were a rookie you played briefly for BG Goettingen for John Patrick. How intense was it playing for him?

When I played for John Patrick in Goettingen, it was one of my best times in Europe. John Patrick taught me how to be a professional on and off the court and I thank him for that but it was it was very intense full court press never let up and always had to be on your game which was my type of game. Ugh I miss those days.

 

 

Your little cousin is new Fraport Skyliner guard Richard Williams. How proud are you of his rapid rise from the German pro B to Beko BBL?

Yes Richie is the new point guard for Fraport Skyliners. I’m very proud of him, because he came a long way and worked hard for it and I congratulate him for being a new member of the skyliners I knew really how much he wanted it

 

 

What has it been that has made him into a top Beko BBL point guard? Has it been a combination of hard work and dedication, an unending passion to win and skills that has brought him to where he is today?

 

Richie has a passion out this world for the game of basketball and to win. We worked out all summer and it was one of the most competitive summers I’ve had in a long time working out with him and I feel he brings that on the court in the game and is amazing. He can do it all. Shoot dribble pass run a team and play defense. What more do you want from your point guard

 

What has Richie Williams been able to incorporate into his game from years and years of practicing with you?

To never back down from anyone no matter who they are how tall they are and just being a leader and professional on and off the court

 

 

In the 2011-2012 season, you played for Stahnsdorf and had a strong season playing 18 games: 17.8ppg, 1.8rpg, 3.6apg, 2.1spg, FGP: 44.8%, 3PT: 34.3%, FT: 78.4%. When you look back at that season are you a bit disappointed that you weren´t able to continue your career in Germany? You had  agreat season and must of been interesting for some teams?

 

Yes I was disappointed about not playing in Germany the next year and I thought that I had a good season and didn’t have an agent so I thought it will be easy because of the season that I had to get another job but I guess is not as easy as you think if you don’t have somebody to shop you around to other teams. That was another learning experience that I’ve came across and that Ive learned from.

 

 

What memories do you have of warrior Kellen Williams who is going into his fourth season now with Stahnsdorf?

 

Kellen Williams is a true definition of a warrior undersized power forward but never backing down rebounds, hustles and knows his role on the team and never doing too much more then he is supposed to do, and is a professional as well. One of my favorite teammates I’ve had since playing professional basketball

 

If you could sell your self in a few sentences as to why any team could sue your services now, how would you describe your current abilities?

 

I work hard on and off the court always going to give you 110% everyday Im a great teammate. I play defense full court, I’m quick and explosive I can shoot the three and finish at the basket and create for others and most of all is being a leader and running a team on the court and being a PG and having a passion to win.

 

 

How fanatstic would it bei f you could play fort he Fraport Skyliners juniors Pro B team? You would be able to practice with cousin Richard Williams and spend time with him each day

 

I would love it.  It would be fun and take me back to AAU and playing on the same team in the ABA. It would make me feel like I’m at home in San Diego California

 

 

In 10 matches, who wins a one on one on the court you or Richard Williams? How would you beat him?

Out of 10 matches I will win 6 or them and he will win 4 lol I would get the edge I would beat him with a little bit of everything. Our game is so much alike and he knows how I play and I know how he plays so it would be interesting

 

 

Where will the journey of the Cavs with Lebron and Kevin Love end this season?

 

I see them beating the Bulls in the eastern conference and losing to a team In the western conference

 

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

 

Last DVD I watched was Purge 2 and it was a great movie.

 

Thanks Keoni for the chat.

Leave a Reply

