Andre Marhold (Gießen 46ers) My Guard Abilities Is my Hidden Strength

Andre Marhold is a 23 year old 198cm forward that will be playing his second professional season and first in Germany for the Giessen 46ers. Last season he played for Chin Min Dragons UBC St. Polten (Austria-A Bundesliga): 7 games: 13.3ppg, 8.6rpg, 1.1bpg, FGP: 53.6%, 3PT: 66.7%, FT: 63.6%. He played at Duquesne (NCAA) and as a senior played  28 games: 6.1ppg, 5.8rpg, 1.6bpg, FGP: 52.9%, FT: 37.5%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

 

Andre how are you? Where are you at the moment and how have you been enjoying your summer?

I’m great, I am currently in Pittsburgh pa training with the “The Scoring Factory” everyday, preparing myself to have a great season next year is my main focus right now.

Last season as a rookie, you didn´t get a team until February 2014 and now in your second season, you have signed early with Giessen. Will it be easier to enjoy your summer now knowing you have a job?

It was a huge relief to sign early but, that’s just half the job. This opportunity made me want to work even harder this summer.

What do you know about the basketball country Germany? Do you have any friends playing here and anyone that might have made your decision to come to Giessen easier?

Don’t really know too much about Germany. However I have family in Germany.

What were the main reasons for selling you on Giessen? Did you have a talk with head coach Denis Wucherer who played with Dirk Nowitzki in the German national team?

I made my decision because I felt it was a good opportunity and a stepping stone for me to continue to prove myself and get better.

Last season you played for Chin Min Dragons UBC St. Polten (Austria-A Bundesliga) that finished in last place with a record of 2-26. How difficult was this very short season for you?

It was extremely difficult losing us always difficult. I hate losing at anything I do. But the best way to deal with it, is to stay positive and continue to work every day.

Did a guy like experienced Gary Ware who played at Purdue and ins even countries make the transition easier for you? What was the most important thing that you learned from him?

Yes Gary Ware made the transition a lot easier for me. He was more of like a big brother, great guy/pro. I learned a lot from him not only on the court but off the court as well

Giessen head coach Denis Wucherer has described you as a 4-5 player that is very athletic. What is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?

My guard abilities shooting ball handling and quickness is my hidden strength.

You finished fifth all time on the Duquesne (NCAA) shot block list with 107. Which NBA player was always your role model on defense?

Michael Jordan his ability focus and work ethic on defense motivated me to shut my opponent down every play.

You had some great games like your 15 rebound effort against Temple, or your nine point, eight rebound and four block game against Western Michigan or your 13 point, 11 rebound game against St Josepth. What was your career game high light in college?

My career game highlight playing against the Pittsburgh Panthers when I dunked on Steven Adams now playing for the OKC Thunder

Who was the best player that you ever played against in the NCAA that is in the NBA or in Europe now?

John Wall is the best player I’ve ever played against, known him since 7th grade.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Michael Jordan “Above and Beyond”

Thanks Andre for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

