Vincent Bailey (SC Rasta Vechta)Size Doesn’t Matter To Me, Its Whoever Wants It The Most And I Want Every Rebound I Can Get My Hands On

Vincent Bailey is a 22 year old 201cm forward that will begin his professional basketball career in Germany with Pro A club SC Rasta Vechta. H eplayed at  Lincoln Memorial (NCAA2) from 2001-2014 and as a senior averaged 21,6ppg and 9,8rpg. He won the SAC Tournament in 2011 and 2014. He talked to German Hoops about basketball.

Vincent thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how have you been enjoying your summer?

Right now I’m in Atlanta,Ga. Getting prepared for the upcoming season with Rasta. My summer has been great just been working out to stay on top of my game.

Any player coming from college especially from Div2 can be more than thrilled getting a professional basketball job so quickly. How blessed are you that you have landed a job with German Pro A team SC Rasta Vechta?

Being Div 2 I’m sure people have there doubt’s about me. But I’ve been doubted all my life and I am very blessed to have this opportunity to show what I am capable of. I am very motivated to be on top of my game and can’t wait to start with Rasta Vachta this upcoming season.

You come from a very small town Jennings, Florida. In 2004, there were only 843 people living in the town. How does it feel to be possibly the first person going oversees to work as a professional athlete?

It feels great. Hamilton County has supported me all the way to this point of my life and all I want to be is an inspiration to the people back home that anything is possible when you put God first and work hard.

Did you have any other offers or did you just jump at this offer? How important was it signing so early in the transfer period?

Yes I had others. But this situation was the best for me. Great town and great atmosphere as well as organization. I’m thrilled to be a part of this. Glad I am signed now, now I can work even harder knowing where my destination is this season.

Did you have talks with SC Rasta Coach Stephan Arigbabu? Did you know that he played for the German national team with NBA legend in the making Dirk Nowitzki?

Yes I’ve talked with him great guy and looking forward to being coached by him.

What do you know about the country Germany and its basketball leagues? Do you have any friends playing in Germany?

Not much but I know its great basketball in the country of Germany and yes I had one friend from Lincoln Memorial University playing in Germany last season Desmond Johnson.

You played four years at Lincoln Memorial (NCAA2) winning two SAC tournaments. What was sweeter winning it as a freshman or as a senior?

My senior year because I was the leader and they looked for my consistency every game and was more pressure on me but I loved it.

You had a very strong senior season averaging 21,6ppg and 9,8rpg and had 14 double doubles. One notices that you are a very good rebounder for 201cm. Is rebounding your biggest strength?

Rebounding is one of my strengths. Size doesn’t matter to me, its whoever wants it the most and I want every rebound I can get my hands on.

What is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right way on the court?

Hidden strength is probably my vision to see my teammates open. I’m not a selfish player. I love to win and I will do that anyway possible whether that’s me getting 2 points or 20, whatever is best for the team.

You played four years for head coach Josh Schertz. How did he prepare you best for a professional basketball career?

He taught me worth ethic, how to be a competitor and how to stay focused on the goal for the team but taking it one day at a time instead of worrying about the end result.

How does a normal summer work out day look like for Vincent Bailey on and off the court?

Get up in the a.m run ,lift. Then workout with my trainer Rob Johnson in the afternoon and do it all over again the next day 5 days a week.

What is one more place that you will want to visit this summer before heading over to Germany to start your professional basketball career?

No where. I’m working out to until I leave. Germany is the only destination for me until its that time.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

The last DVD I saw was Training Day with Denzel Washington.

Thanks Vincent for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

