Lorenzo Williams (Eisbaeren Bremerhaven) Bremerhaven Has A History Of Top Point Guards So I Know I Have Big Shoes To Fill But I’m Ready For The Challenge

Lorenzo Williams is a 29 year old 191cm point guard that will be playing his second season in the BEKO BBL with Eisbaeren Bremerhaven. He was born in Arkansas, but grew up in Texas. He played at Rice University from 2003-2007. In his senior year, he played 29 games averaging 9.1ppg, 2.5rpg, 5.0apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 45.7%, 3Pts: 34.6%, FT: 71.4%. He was drafted by the Anaheim Arsenal in 2007, but decided to come to Europe and played in Germany for BC Groer Recycling Weissenhorn, but left during the season, in March 2008 and moved to Skanska Pezinok (Slovakia-Extraliga). In 2008-2009, he played in Slovakia for AB Cosmetics Pezinok playing 28 games: Score-2(20.8ppg), 3.2rpg, Assists-2(5.8apg), 1.8spg, 2FGP: 62.3%, 3PT: 39.8%, FT: 83.9%. In the 2009-2010 season, he came to Germany and played for the Giessen 46ers playing  25 games: 11.4ppg, 1.6rpg, 3.6apg, FGP: 58.7%, 3PT: 33.8%, FT: 67.2%. In the 2010-2011 season he played for Zalakeramia-ZTE KK (Hungary-A Division, starting five): 19 games: 15.6ppg, 3.3rpg, Assists-1(7.3apg), 2.5spg, FGP: 65.2%, 3PT: 35.6%, FT: 70.4%, in Feb.’11 moved to Khimik-OPZ Yuzny (Ukraine-Superleague, starting five): 15 games: 9.1ppg, 2.6rpg, 3.9apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 50.6%, 3PT: 24.3%, FT: 87.5%. He then played two seasons for  Atomeromu SE Paks (Hungary-A Division). Last season he played for BK Ventspils (Latvia-LBL) winning the league championship playing  24 games: 11.6ppg, 2.8rpg, 3.9apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 50.0%, 3PT: 41.0%, FT: 82.4%; EuroChallenge: 11 games: 10.4ppg, 3.1rpg, 4.4apg, FGP: 54.1%, 3PT: 22.6%, FT: 73.0%; Baltic League: 16 games: 9.8ppg, 3.4rpg, Assists-4(4.4apg), 1.3spg, FGP: 50.6%, 3PT: 38.3%, FT: 72.7% He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Lorenzo thanks for talking to German Hoops. Welcome back to Germany. After four years away you are back in the Beko BBL. You played three seasons in Hungary and one in Latvia. From a basketball stand point has time flown by?

Time has flown by pretty quickly. I still feel like a young guy but,A lot has changed with my game since I was in Giessen.

You were a young buck coming to Giessen in 2009 at age 24. Since then you have gathered further basketball experience won a title, assist crown and played Eurochallenge. How has your game developed since you played in Giessen. What kind of a Lorenzo Williams will we see on the court in 2014 with the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven?

My game has evolved a lot. My experience with different coaches and styles of play have made me a well-rounded player. You will see a player who has matured and honed his game. Whatever the staff needs me to do, I can do. I’ve added more things to my game.

Back in the 2009-2010 season the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven reached the semi finals losing to Frankfurt. Back then the team was led by veteran point guard Louis Campbell. What memories do you have from that season playing against them?

That’s was one of my better games back then at Bremerhaven. They were a very good team with a lot of talented players. Bremerhaven has always been a respected club and we would love to achieve the success like the 09-10 team.

What ultimately sold you on joining the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven? They have had top point guards the last seasons with Stanley Burrell and Darius Adams. Is this a place where you feel comfortable you will be able too flourish?

Like you stated,Bremerhaven has a history of top point guards so I know I have big shoes to fill but I’m ready for the challenge. The coach showed a lot of interest and confidence in my abilities which I feel is most important. I feel that we can have a successful season with hard work and dedication.

Last season you won your first title with  BK Ventspils The most logical thing may have been to remain after such a  successful season. Or was the Latvia chapter of your basketball life just closed with that sweet title?

The coaching staff and management at BK Ventspils was great! I thank them for everything that they have done and I wish them much success in the future. Latvia was great, but I always wanted to return to the BBL.

 

What were the main reasons for the success last season. You didn´t have any real stars, but mostly Latvian players and two Americans. Was team basketball tattooed on the chests of each player that led to the dominance in that league?

We were the true definition of a team. Everyone contributed to our success and no one complained about anything. I think my personality as a player was part of the reason we had such a smooth playing environment. I hope to bring the same confidence and motivation to Bremerhaven.

Your club played a pretty solid Eurochallenge group with a record of 5-6, but didn´t advance losing the last three games. You lost both games to Turkish team Royal Hali, but what kind of an experience was it playing against ex NBA player Ernest Bremer?

I played vs him in EC when I was in Hungary also. He’s a good player who had a lot of advice. It’s always fun to play against players as experienced as he is.

After a very solid season in the Beko BBL, you played three seasons in Hungary including a short but solid season in higher league Ukraine. Did you ever question managers and coaches in general from higher leagues that they didn´t give you a chance the last years since your Giessen gig?

In the beginning it bothered me a little. But I knew if I stayed focused and kept working hard every day, that it would come. I had a lot of interest this summer from great clubs and I’m glad Bremerhaven was one of them.

You come from very hot climate state Texas and last season you played in very cold Latvia. It can get very cold there and at times averages only seven hours of daylight in January. Bremerhaven can also be cold in the winter time. What have you learned from the climate in Latvia that will have you prepared for Bremerhaven?

Dress warm lol Latvia was by far the coldest weather I have experienced so I think I should be ok in Bremerhaven.

In the 2009-2010 season, you played together with David Teague. What was the most incredible thing you saw him do on the court in a practice or game not including his scoring wizardry of 35 points against Alba Berlin?

I would say the most amazing thing about him was how hard he went every day. A lot of times, people forget about the amount of hard work that goes into great performances. So to see him work hard every day was a reason why I was not surprised when he played so well.

Do you see yourself working even harder over the summer with increased age or more cutting back and giving your  body more rest? How does a typical work out day look like for Lorenzo Williams in the summer?

I work harder and smarter each summer. My body feels great at this point and I realize the importance of taking care of myself. A typical day starts at 7am with ball handling for an hour, followed by weight-lifting; then 3mile run around Rice University. After lunch I workout with a trainer.

The San Antonio Sprus beat the Miami Heat in the 2014 NBA final 4-1. This silenced many of the Lebron supporters. Where is your personal stand on this whole Lebron debate on where his standing is at the moment as greatest player? Michael Jordan has six NBA rings and Larry Bird three

I feel that Lebron is a great player, one of the best ever. I will leave the debate to everyone else.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

 A TV series called 24.

Thanks for the chat Lorenzo

Leave a Reply

