Anthony King (Artland Dragons) I Want To Be A Five Man On An Euroleague Team And I Need The Three To Earn The Respect.

Anthony King is a 29 year old 206cm forward from Durham, North Carolina that is playing his third season for the Artland Dragons. He played at Miami(NCAA) from 2003-2008 playing a total of 126 NCAA games. In 2008-2009 he was a rookie for the  Deutsche Bank Skyliners Frankfurt (Germany-1.Bundesliga): EuroChallenge: 9 games: 4.3ppg, 3.4rpg; German League: 31 games: 3.2ppg, 2.8rpg. He then played fro 2009-2011 for  InterCollege Etha Engomis (Cyprus-Division) where he led the league in scoring and rebounds and won a championship and cup. He also got the Cyprus citizenship and plays for the national team and recently played the Qualifications to European Championships 2013 -12: 8 games: 13.8ppg, Reb-5(9.1rpg), 1.3apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 49.4%, FT: 75.9%. He spoke to German Hoops at the 2014 Beko BBL allstar game in Bonn.

How good does it feel being named to the 2014 Beko BBL allstar squad for the first time?

It feels great and I think that it doesn´t reflect my individual work, but from the work of the team that we are consistent.

What is your take on the play of the Artland Dragons in the first half of the season?

There were many doubters who didn´t think that coach Mccoy could do job as a rookie coach and playing in Eurocup, but coach and we have done a great job at being successful. A big strength is that we are mentally tough. We won almost every close game in the first half.

How has your game developed in your two and a half years in Artland?

 

I am more of a leader now. Coach Mccoy taught me to be more of a leader last year and I have carried it into this season. I am not very vocal, but lead by example. I think my consistency also has helped in my development.

 

What is the most important thing that Tyrone Mccoy has taught you since you came in 2011?

 

He has really believed in my three ball. I feel more confident shooting the three and I don´t hesitate taking that shot. It all has to do with repetition and taking the time to shoot extra. I want to take the next step and I want to be a five man on an Euroleague team and I need the three to earn the respect.

The Artland Dragons have so many scorers, but have only one Lawrence Hill. Has he been your unsung hero so far this season?

 

 

Yes Lawrence Hill is our x factor. When you look at the stats, you often see Holston, Thomas or myself at the top of the scoring, but most times it is Hill that controls the game and not us. He is a huge mismatch problem for other teams. He can really shoot the ball.

 

Your teammate David Holston looks like  a hugable teddy bear, but can he get mean on the court?

 

The small guys often have that chip on the shoulder which he has. When he gets going early and is playing aggressive then that opposing point guard knows that he will be having a long night.

 

After a tough rookie season in Frankfurt, you stepped up your game in Cyprus and grew as a player. How important were these two years in Cyprus?

 

Those two years were very important as my stats, confidence and leadership qualities rose. In my second year, I had two very good games against the Artland Dragons in Eurochallenge and I showed everyone that I was a good enough player after my hard rookie season in Frankfurt.

 

Do you still have contact to ex teammates from Frankfurt?

 

I talk frequently to Keith Simmons and Lorenzo Gordon and Jimmy Mckinney and Derrick Allen are very close friends of mine. Pascal Roller is always around.

 

Does any big game stand out from your rookie season with Frankfurt. I remember a 16 and 11 game.

 

Yes that was a game that we lost in Bamberg. I also remember a good game against Oldenburg where it didn´t occur to me after the game that I had just played very well against Ruben Boumtje Boumtje who had a very known name having played at Georgetown and in the NBA.

 

Why do so many good players come from North Carolina?

When you come from North Carolina, you have to play basketball. We have never been known for football, but we are getting better. I think that it is something in the water. But many great players have come from North Carolina like Chris Paul or PJ Tucker who is a good friend of mine since I was 11. I saw him go through the ranks to the NBA.

 

Why didn´t you go to an NCAA school in North Carolina?

 

Many schools scouted me, but I wanted to get away from home. And besides it wouldn´t be easy playing for a NC school with everyone wanting tickets for games.

 

You named many ex Skyliners with whom you still have contact, but is there one guy you miss the most?

 

I really miss the whole team and not just one player. I was a rookie and we just all held together.

 

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

 

The wolf of wall street. It was a great movie. Leo Di Caprio really has range as an actor. He goes from playing the great Gatsby to a snake in the wolf of wall street. Illian Evtimov is a movie expert, but I know what movies to watch. That is all we really do.

 

Thanks Anthony for the chat.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

