David Pruett (Rasta Vechta) I Play With High Emotion And Energy Until The Final Buzzer Sounds

David Pruett is a 24 year old 190 cm guard from Gainsville, Georgia that is on  a try out basis with German Beko BBL team SC Rasta Vechta. He started his basketball career in 2008 with Armstrong Atlantic (NCAA2) where he palyed until 2010. He played the last three seasons for  Lander (NCAA2) and as a senior played  26 games: 16.5ppg, 4.5rpg, 3.3apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 38.4%, 3PT: 36.9%, FT: 83.5%. Awards/Achievements in his basketball career have been PeachBelt Tournament Semifinals -09, and PeachBelt All-Academic Team -12. He spoke to German Hoops about his new basketball adventure in Germany.

Hi David thanks for talking to German Hoops. It can get cold in South Carolina in the winter, but can you bear the German cold? I guess as long as the gym is warm all is ok? Lol

I didn’t really understand how cold German gets until I woke up this morning shivering. Definitely sleeping with the heat on. Rasta keeps the gym warm which is good.

You landed at Frankfurt airport and then flew to a smaller city Bremern and then it got very small with Vechta. What is your first impression of the town? Do you like that small town feeling?

I come from a small college town, Greenwood South Carolina. So I am used to this type of atmosphere. But I love Vechta, people are wonderful and its a beautiful town. People do a wonderful job supporting their basketball club. Can’t wait to continue meeting people.

How excited are you to be playing in Germany and start your rookie season with SC Rasta Vechta?

I am truly blessed to have this opportunity right out of college to try out for a BBL team. Not many people get this opportunity so thankful for it. What a great club and town to start my pro career!

SC Rasta Vechta is a new team in the league and always battling until the end to win games. How much never die attitude sticks within David Pruett?

I play with high emotion and energy until the final buzzer sounds. I have been on winning and losing teams. I know what it feels like to win and lose. Winning is the most important thing no matter what and I will do whatever I have to do to help Rasta win.

You scored 15 points in your first test game. How did it feel playing with your teammates?

The guys here at Rasta are great. They are hard workers and work every day to get wins. They helped me and hopefully I helped them. Ha! playing right after a red eye flight and only three hours sleep was hard. My shot was off so I attacked the rim and got some easy buckets. Got to credit my teammates for giving me the opportunities though. It was only a scrimmage though.

SC Rasta Vechta is a very scrappy team with many guys there to prove something. What has been your overall impression of the team?

This team is close real close to being real good. We need to keep improving on defense and find a piece or two on offense.

What has it been like playing with athletic jumper Brandon Bowmann? I am sure you will see a dunk every day from him.

Brandon is great experienced player. He has a great attitude and very athletic.

You played at the Team Moscow (Eurobasket Summer League in Las Vegas and now found a new team late into the season. How thankful are you for your agent Lothar Hermeling who really did top notch work getting you this deal?

Euro summer league was a great experience for me as it tested me physically because it was the second straight pro showcase within a week. I know what I needed to continue to work on my game after that week. Lothar Hermeling is simply great at what he does. I never have to question his work ethic or decisions. He knows what best for me and I trust him. He is great.

What is your biggest strength as a player. You are 190cm big and can score?

My biggest strength is my shot. I can stretch defenses with my 3 and pull up from midrange. Coach Elzie brought me here to shoot.

What is a strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?

My athletic ability

What was the most important thing that you learned from head coach Jeff Burkhamer that has prepared you best for a professional basketball career?

He has taught me so much about the game of basketball. It has improved my IQ. He also taught me fundamental defense and helped me improve on it every year. He has prepared me to have professional business like approach to every day.

What will you never forget from your last game 34 point effort against Francis Marion?

Its a memory I will never forget. To play my last game in a Lander uniform like that was just so much fun. What a great night that was for me and the Lander program.

Who won a one on one in college you or Jarel Smith and how did you beat him best?

Jarel Smith is a very talent player who will put up big numbers this year. He is better than me at getting to the basket and finished with contact. We never played one on one but I’m sure it would be hell of a battle!

Who was the best player that you played against in the NCAA2 that might be in the NBA or college now?

So many great players have come through the Peach Belt Confrence. Ben Magen, Dwight Tolbert, Brain Moultrie, Garret Syler, Chris Commons. There are so many I can pick from.

Where will the NBA journey of the Atlanta Hawks end this season?

The Hawks will end their season around the 5th seed in the East. But look out for them in the future. They have a great system in place and great pieces.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Man of Steel. Eh Its a fun movie.

Thanks David for the chat.

Leave a Reply

