Nate Gerwig (Anytime I Go To A New team, The Top Thing That I Concentrate On Is Rebounding And Defense

Nate Gerwig is a 26 year old 206cm center that grew up in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. He played at Kent State from 2001-2006. He was unable to play the 2003-2004 season on account of being a medical redshirt. In his senior year, he played 32 games averaging  6.4ppg, 3.9rpg, FGP: 58.0%, FT: 58.1%. He turned professional in the 2006-2007 season playing for Porvoon Tarmo (Korisliiga) playing  22 games and averaging 2.9ppg, 2.6rpg. In the 2007-2008 season, he returned back to the States and played in the D League for the Fort Wayne Mad Ants playing 40 games and averaging 3.6ppg, 5.9rpg, FGP: 49.6%, FT: 49.1%. n 2008-2009, he played his first season in Germany in the PRO A for BV Chemnitz 99 playing 30 games and averaging 15.6ppg, 8.5rpg, 1.7apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 65.0%, FT: 61.8%. In 2009-2001 he played for the Paderborn Baskets (Germany-1.Bundesliga) averaging 7.3ppg, 5.8rpg. In 2011-2012 he played for Saar-Pfalz Braves (Germany-ProA, starting five): 6 games: 7.0ppg, 6.0rpg, 1.0apg, FGP: 53.6%, FT: 50.0%; left in Oct.’11, in Dec.’11 moved to Cuxhaven BasCats (Germany-ProA, starting five): 16 games: 11.9ppg, 7.6rpg, 1.3apg, FGP: 60.7%, FT: 64.9%. Last season he played for  BC Prievidza (Slovakia-Extraliga) and the BSW Sixers (Germany-ProB). He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Nate thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how are you spending your Sunday?

I am currently in Cleveland Ohio and I spit my time between Cleveland and Pittsburgh. It is Sunday so today I am just relaxing watching football.

The 2013-2014 season in Europe has started and you are still unsigned. How tough has it been sitting around and staying positive?

Its been very difficult for me to stay positive, but also motivational when I do get my chance to play this season I will not forget the feeling of sitting around having to wait to play, and all of the teams and people who have doubted me so whatever team is smart enough to pick me up will have a highly motivated player to say the least.

You usually had a team to start each season and this year it is the first time where you are still unsigned. Does it seem like the basketball market gets more competitive each new season?

The market is always competitive its never easy to get a job, but yes being at home in Sept, Oct, Nov is definitely something new for me and I am not sure I like it at all.

The summer is always a long off season, but did you have an yoffers or some that just weren´t the right situation?

I had a couple teams that were interested but for whatever reason they took different players.

Does one become more selective about the right situation as one gets older and wiser?

Yes, as you get older there are just some situations that just wont work for you.

You have played in Germany for four seasons. Why has Germany always been so appealing a place to play for?

I think once you play well at a club in a certain country you tend to always have the chance to go back to that country to the same club or another club, just because they already know who you are and what you can do. I have always enjoyed my time in Germany and as a kid I went to a school in which I had the opportunity to take German as a class from 1st grade all the way through 12th grade so I knew a bit of German and about the German culture before I ever came to play basketball in Germany.

Last season after starting in Slovakia, you played for the  BSW Sixers (Germany-ProB) having quite solid stats. What kind of an experience was that for you?

Last season was the most difficult season for me as a pro on many levels. I had 5 coaches during the season, and I was a bit unpleased with my personal performance for much of the season playing with the bsw sixers was very satisfying for me. It was a roller coaster ride but we finished very strong and we had a fun run in the last month of the season into the playoffs. I had a lot of fun playing with my teammates there as well. In the end, it ended well.

Your ex teammate there Japhet Mcneil is in the same boar as you in that he is also searching for a team. Could one say that there are just too many talented players in the world and too little teams to fill out every good player?

Japhet is a supremely talented point guard., great passer and a wonderful defender. It was a joy to play with someone of his caliber. There are tons of talented ball players that for whatever reason never get the chance to play.

Your 30 now and not getting any younger. Do feel that you need to work even harder now in your basketball workouts so you can keep up with the young bucks?

I have to work ten times harder than I did when i was younger. When I was in my early 20’s I could go weeks without playing and walk onto a court and play at a high level. Now I have to workout everyday, if I take a day off the results are not good.

How does a normal basketball workout day look like for Nathan Gerwig? Do you work on some things more now than maybe five years ago?

I do different things everyday. I believe in cross training so my morning workout is always different. I might go running one day, I might go swimming one day, I ll do some yoga, lift weights, but at night I always do a basketball workout or find somewhere to play. For me I have to play basketball everyday.

If you could sell yourself in a few sentences as too why you could help any team now, how would you do it?

Anytime I go to a new team the top thing I concentrate on is rebounding and defense. At the very least I would be able to give a team that

If you could return to a German team that you played for already to what team would you go back to?

Thats a tough question, I have enjoyed my time at all of the clubs that I have played with in Germany, honestly I would not mind going back to any of them.

I am testing your memory block, but what memories do you have from Nicolai Simon who was your teammate at Paderborn? He has developed well and is a German national player now?

It does not at all surprise me at all that Nicolai has been successful with his basketball career. I was always impressed with his work ethic and competitiveness. He came to practice ready to compete every day and worked at becoming better. What was even more impressive was he was doing this at a young age and you dont see that much from players that are young. I am happy for him, and he definitely deserves to be in the places that he is

What do you cherish most about being a professional basketball player and what do you want to experience again as a player now?

I just enjoy competing and being able to play basketball everyday. There is nothing better than that. I cant wait to get back out on a basketball court and compete.

Where will your Pittsburgh Steelers journey end this season?

O man the Steelers are having a rough season. They probably not going to make the playoffs this season. Hopefully we get a good draft pick for next season

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

The last DVD movie that I saw was the Departed.

Thanks Nate for the chat.

Leave a Reply

