Anthony Young (ETB Wohnbau Baskets) Igor Krizanovicis a great coach, he stays on you but he shows tough love

Anthony Young is a 23 year old 200cm forward from Indianapolis, Indiana that is playing his second professional season with ETB Wohnbau Baskets Essen. He started his basketball career in 2008 for  Kankakee CC (JUCO) where he played until 2010. He finished his two last seasons of school at  Ky Wesleyan (NCAA2) an din his senior year played  31 games: 19.7ppg, 7.9rpg, FGP: 49.9%, 3Pts: 40.0%, FT: 84.6%. Last season as a professional rookie he played for BSV Wulfen (Germany-ProB, starting five): 22 games: Score-4(21.1ppg), 8.7rpg, 1.5apg, 1.8spg, FGP: 50.2%, 3PT: 30.0%, FT: 82.3%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Anthony thanks talking to German Hoops again. How has been the transition from Wulfento Essen? You go from a small city to a big city and is there something different with the mentality of the folk?

The city being bigger makes it a little more difficult for me driving wise. Lol. I struggle with that at times, however the mentality is the same as Wulfen. The people are pretty much the same, everyone is friendly.

The ETB Wohnbau baskets Essen have started slow with a record of 2-3. What have been the main reasons for the slow start?

I wouldnt call it a slow start, if you look at our games that we have lost we only lost by 1 or 2 points. 2 games we gave away at the end that we should have won.

You are averaging  12,3ppg and 6,8rpg. How happy have you been with your own game so far?

I havent been happy thus far with my game because I havent got in a real rhythm yet. But it is coming!

Through five games, what has been the most difficult thing that you have had to get used to at the Pro A level coming from Pro B?

Switching from Pro B to Pro A hasnt been a problem at all. I love the competition and I feel as if im one of the top players in Pro A but I just havent caught my stride just yet, but I will.

You and Michael Fakuade both have made a good transition to Pro A from Pro B. How has he helped you most in the early going on and off the court?

Off the court Mike is really cool, we hang together a lot and share a lot of different experiences. Thats my guy.

What is it like playing for new coach Igor Krizanovic? What have been the major differences to your coach from last season Heimo Foerster?

Igor Krizanovic is a great coach, he stays on you but he shows “tough’ love. He is real hands on and we are working together to develop the type of relationship we need to be successful.

The team has a pretty slim roster. How vital will Germans Marco Buljevic and Fabian Franke be for the success of the team this season?

Marco and Fabian are extremely important for us, we need both of them to play well if we want to make the playoffs.

Is it very strange for you having to have to come from the bench on occasion? Do you think your minutes will increase in the future?

I have not come off the bench this season, I have started every game, my minutes have been down do to foul trouble and a minor knee injury. But now I am 100% healthy and my production will go up. Trust me!

Essen point guard Chris Alexander is already having a strong season. Do you think this could be the season if Essen is successful that he could be that MVP caliber like player?

When its all said and done Chris and myself will most likely be in the MVP running, like I said I just havent got in a groove yet. But me and Chris dont care about a MVP, we just want to win games and make the playoffs.

How proud are you off the Indianapolis Colts who beat undefeated Denver Broncos? Where will season for Colts go?

Actually I wanted Denver to win because of Peyton’s return. Hahahaha. Crazy I know!

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

The last movie I saw was Eddie Murphys classic movie Trading Places. Which was hilarious!

Thanks Anthony for the chat.

Leave a Reply

