Larry Gordon(Phoenix Hagen) Rebounding Comes Automatically To Me

Larry Gordon is a 25 year old 196cm forward that recently completed his first season with Phoenix Hagen. He played 37 games averaging 12.7ppg, 6.4rpg, 1.5apg, FGP: 52.9%, 3PT: 43.0%, FT: 83.2%. He was awarded Eurobasket.com All-German Bundesliga Honorable Mention -13. He played at  Cal Poly Pomona (NCAA2) from 2005 to 2009 playing a total of  116 NcAA2 games. In his senior year, he played 33 games: 15.7ppg, 10.4rpg, 2.0apg, 1.7apg, FGP: 53.8%, 3PT: 38.5%, FT: 75.7%. He was a CCAA Player of the Year and NCAA D2 Finalist in 2009. In 2009-2010, he came to Europe as a rookie and played for Landstede Basketbal Zwolle (Holland-Eredivisie, starting five): 36 games: 14.0ppg, 8.1rpg, 1.8apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 48.3%, 3PT: 33.7%, FT: 75.8%. He played for ECE Bulls Kapfenberg (Austria-A Bundesliga) the last two seasons and last season played  38 games: 14.7ppg, Reb-3(8.4rpg), 1.8apg, FGP-3(65.2%), 3PT: 36.2%, FT: 77.1%. He spoke to German Hoops during the last season.

What was it like playing against Quantez Robertson?

I was a bit bigger than him, but he was a very strong player at his position. He played very aggressive.

You played the last two seasons in Austria in the small town Kapfenberg. Do you miss the small town feeling there? Hagen is a lot bigger.

I actually prefer a bigger city. It was very small there and not too much to do. I like the downtown area in Hagen and reminds me a bit of home.

You are playing your first season in Germany. How do you like the country and league?

I am really enjoying Germany. I haven´t explored so much yet except for in and around hagen and the places we visited on the road. I like the league as well. We have  a lot of potential and have high goals as a team.

Phoenix Hagen was very up and down in the first half of the season. What were the main factors for this?

We just didn´t find ourselves as a team yet. We like to play aggressive and play the full court press. As soon as we find our identity then we will mesh better together as a team.

It is not secret that Phoenix Hagen can score a lot of points, but why doesn´t it always play defense?

We are trying to figure ourselves out on defense. I feel that we have the potential and player to play god defense. We also know that defense will win games. If we have a bad offensive game, then we know that good defense will take care of itself. We just have to be focused and lock down as a team on defense.

You are the top rebounder on Phoenix Hagen. Is it a big challenge for you to do extra on the boards since the team doesn´t have a classic strong big man?

It isn´t a challenge. If you look at my past, rebounding has always been a part of my game. Rebounding comes automatically to me. There is no effort for me I just go go go to the basket and enjoy rebounding.

Is Davin White one of the top guards in the Beko BBL that nobody really knows about?

I think that he is. You never really know what you will get from him, but he always works hard. He can get to the basket whenever he wants and it is a lot of fun playing with him.

Where does your strong winning mentality come from?

I have always had it throughout my career. I have always been the underdog since high school until now. I was the underdog at Cal Poly Pomona as well as in Holland and just wanting to win always built on me. In Austria I came to a winning program and my winner mentality stayed with me.

You’re a very good ball handler for your size. Which NBA player ball handling skills always impressed you?

I like how Chris Paul does it and how easy it comes to him.

Who was your favorite dunker as a kid and now in the NBA`

As a kid my favorite dunker was Vince Carter just because how ridiculous he could dunk. Now I like Blake Griffin. He is just an explosive jumper and it doesn´t matter where he is around the rim he just dunks.

If you could ask Patrick Ewing one question what would you ask?

Well I was a bit too young to remember him play. I would be in awe just being in his company and be star struck and ask him for an autograph.

Who were your NBA idols growing up?

I was a Lakers fan and Kobe Bryant was my number one. I also liked Allen Iverosn and Michael Jordan.

Could one say that you are as relentless as Kevin Love going for the rebound?

I would think so. I always go hard to the boards and want the boards to fall on me.

What was your fondest memory at Cal Poly Pomona(NCAA2)?

My memory was that despite being the underdog in our senior year, we were able to reach the NCAA2 final. We lost the final, but it was a great experience getting there and beating top teams by 30 points.

What was your wakeup call to the professional ranks in Holland?

I just learned how the top teams and weak teams always came to play. If you didn´t come to play then you would lose games. Losing games doesn´t look good on your resume when you are trying to further your career as a player.

You played together with ex TBB Trier player Danny Horace in Austria. Who won a one on one in practice?

It is funny that you asked that, because we would always play. He was a big dude and beat me most of the time. But I would always pick myself.

How much potential does young German Ole Wendt have as a player?

I saw the young Dutch and Austrian player the last years, so I have seen what the young players can do. Wendt always plays hard and you can notice that he is so focused to becoming  atop player in the league. I think that if he continues to put in the work then he can become a top player.

What were the most free throws that you have made in a row?

57

What was your most crazy shot in your career?

I was going up for a lay up and got fouled, but as I was going down made a 360 spin and made the basket and end one.

Who wins a one on one you or Dino Gregory?

Me for sure, because I am quicker than him. But Dino is a very good shot blocker, so you always have to be aware of his presence around the basket.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

The odd life of Timmy Green.

Thanks Larry for the chat.

Leave a Reply

