Allan Ray (ratiopharm Ulm) I Try To Wreck The Others Team´s Offense

Allan Ray is a 28 year old 188cm guard from the Bronx that is playing his first season in the Beko BBL for ratiopharm Ulm. He is a an explosive scoring guard, tremendous leaper, finds the open man, beats foes off the dribble or with a jumper, has range beyond the 3-point arc  and is a conscientious defender. He played at Villanova with NBA players Kyle Lowery and Randy Foye. He played at Villanova from 2002-2006. He was n´t drafted but got signed by the  Boston Celtics (NBA), in Feb.’07 was assigned to Austin Toros (D-League): 2 games: 14.5ppg, 2.5rpg, 2.0apg, in March ’07 recalled to Boston Celtics (NBA): 47 games: 6.2ppg, 1.5rpg, FGP: 38.6%, 3PT: 41.4%, FT: 76.4%. In 2007-2008, he came to Europe and played with Lottomatica Virtus Roma (Italy-SerieA, starting five): Italian League: 9 games: 12.9ppg, 2.4rpg, 1.6apg, 3.3spg, FGP: 54.2%, 3PT: 29.0%, FT: 90.2%; Euroleague: 6 games: 6.8ppg, 2.0rpg, 2.3apg, left team in Jan.’09, later that month moved to Carife Ferrara (Italy-Serie A, starting five): 15 games: 15.5ppg, 5.2rpg, 2.0apg, Steals-5(2.7spg), FGP: 47.4%, 3PT: 36.4%, FT: 84.3%. In 2010-2011, he played with 2010-2011: Fabi Shoes Montegranaro (Italy-SerieA, starting five): 29 games: 10.3ppg, 2.8rpg, 1.5apg, 1.7spg, FGP: 44.3%, 3PT: 32.5%, FT: 74.3%. Last season he played for Krka Novo Mesto (Slovenia-Telemach League, starting five): Adriatic League: 1 game: 10pts, 1reb; EuroCup: 2 games: 18.5ppg, 1.5rpg, 4.0apg, 1.5spg, later that month moved to Elan Bearnais Pau-Lacq-Orthez (France-ProA, starting five): French League: 22 games: 15.2ppg, 2.5rpg, 2.5apg, FGP: 50.4%, 3PT: 39.5%, FT: 89.6%; EuroChallenge: 3 games: 14.3ppg, 6.3rpg, 1.0apg. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

After many years in Italy and last season in Slovenia and France how do you like the Beko BBL?

This league is very competitive. You could see it with the oT games at the start of the season. There are good teams and good players.

How does your teammate Lance Jeter help most on the court?

He brings a lot of energy and he knows how to score. He is a big guard and is usually bigger than his opponents. He gives us a spark when we need it.

How is your relationship to head coach Thorsten Leibenath and how has he helped you in early going?

We have a great relationship which is always important in a player-coach relationship. He keeps us focused. He has motivated me a lot.

How happy are you that John Bryant is your teammate and not your opponent and what do you like most form his game?

I am very happy that John Bryant is on my team. He is unstoppable. He has a unique game can shoot, rebound and has soft hands. It is hard to compare him to a player, because he plays his own way.

Thorsten Leibenath has given young German Daniel Theis a lot of trust and giving him minutes. What do you like most about his game?

He brings a lot of high energy. He is all over the court. He plays great defense, and blocks shots well. He brings a lot to the table and he is also a guy where I am happy that he is on my team.

What is a strength in your game that doesn´t always get noticed?

I think my defense. Coach gives me a lot of confidence. I usually have to defend the others teams best player. I bring intensity and much pressure and just try to wreck the other teams offense.

What do you like most about Germany?

I think it is great that a lot of people understand English. I also like how I can find things in the supermarket that I am familiar with. There is so much to do here. There are nice restaurants and a bowling ally I like to frequent. I also like the arenas here. I remember playing in other countries where arenas were cold and were like a whole in the wall.

You come form the Bronx, New York. What was the toughest thing growing up for you?

Just everyday. Just staying away from trouble. It was a challenge just trying to survive each day. There was always trouble at each corner. I saw many crazy things. It was difficult to stay away from trouble.

Who were your NBA idols as a kid?

Michael Jordan. My dad was a big New York Knicks fan and the Chicago Bulls always played them in the playoffs and won. I would always laugh in the face of my dad.

You played together with NBA player Randy Foye at Villanova. What could you learn most form his as a player?

Just seeing his intensity that he brought to every game. He was an undersized guard, but sometimes played the position four against bigger guys. He played tough always and I learned to be tough from him.

In 2006 you got a finger in your eye. You lost your vision briefly, but a week later you could step on the court again. How difficult was this week not knowing if the injury was severe?

It wasn´t as bad as many thought. The top of my eye lid came behind my eye an dit looked like it would pop out. However as soon as I got to the hospital it was pretty clear I would be ok. I had very slight vision loss and it was blurry but I could see.

You played a season with s.Oliver Baskets Wurzburg forward Dwayne Anderson. What was your fondest experience with him at Villanova?

I remember when he first came to school, he was a freshman and I was a senior. We used to joke about his calf muscles.

Were you annoyed that you weren´t drafted by the NBA?`

I was a little bit. I was predicted to go late first round or early second round. However before the NBA Draft was over I got a call from the Boston Celtics and was signed three days later so it all worked out.

You played 47 games for the Boston Celtics. What will you remember most from the NBA?

Being able to compete against players that I grew up watching. I remember playing against Alan Iverson and Gilbert Arenas. The NBA was like a dream.

You played every day with top NBA point guard Rajon Rondo. What is the most amazing thing that you saw him do?

I remember a game against the Toronto Raptors. Rondo was going up the right side, faked a pass to the wing drawing the defender and then palming the ball and dunking over Chris Bosh.

Where was your favorite spot in Rome while you played there for 1.5 years?

The Met restaurant. I used to always go there with David Hawkins after games. The atmosphere was great. Soccer players also liked to eat there.

What were the most free throws that you made in a row without missing?

At Villanova during practice 130-140 in a row.

What was your most crazy shot?

In my first season with Rome, I made a game winning shot form the corner against FC Barcelona getting us to the Final 16 of Euroleague.

Who wins a one on one you or Lance Jeter?

We both have one once, but I won´t lose anymore.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Arbitrage with Richard Gere.

Thanks Allan for the chat.

Leave a Reply

