Vic Morris (I Can Play Several Roles On A Team)

Victor Morris is a 25 year old 185cm guard from Inkster Michigan. He played at Cleveland St. From 2003-2007. In his senior season, he played 22 games: 7.5ppg, 2.5rpg, 2.1apg, FGP: 38.7%, 3PT: 34.3%, FT: 84.0%. He came overseas in 2007 and played for TS Goeppingen (Germany-Regionalliga, starting five): 18 games: 20.3ppg, 5.0rpg, 6.0apg. In 2008-2009, he played in Germany and Finland for TS Goeppingen (Germany-Regionalliga): 8 games: 15.5ppg, in Dec.’08 moved to Porvoon Tarmo (Finland-Korisliiga, starting five): 27 games: 14.7ppg, 3.5rpg, 2.5apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 48.3%, 3PT: 39.6%, FT: 64.2%. He Help lead TS Goeppingen to Final Four of the Regionalliga Cup in 2008, led the Regionalliga (South-West) in free-throw percentage 2008,ranked top 5 in scoring in Regionalliga (South-West) 2008, scored a career high 44 points in German BBW Cup Championship 2008, set a career high in assists with 13 against Rastatt 2008, was German BBW Cup Champion 2008, German BBW Cup Final Four MVP 2008 and a Regionalliga All-Star in 2008. He played for Team Amsterdam (Eurobasket Summer League in Chicago). His last team was Moncton Miracles (Canada-NBL) where he played 19 games averaging 9.3ppg, 1.6rpg, 3.9apg, FGP: 40.9%, 3PT: 31.6%, FT: 82.9% He spoke to eGerman Hoopsabout his future.

Hi Vic thanks for talking to German Hoops Where are you currently and what have you been up to this summer?

Right now Im in Louisiana moved here a few months ago. I wanted to get away from a lot of things and just focus on basketball and improve my game. So I dedicated this summer to training and improving all aspects of my game. Othe rthan that, I have been watching the nBA Summer League games, USA games and enjoying my family. 

After playing two seasons in the German Regionaliga, you played last season for Moncton Miracles (Canada-NBL). What kind of experience was this for you?

Playing in Moncton was a very good experience. I was able to play against good competition everyday in practice and in games. I also had the opportunity to learn from a former NBA Head Coach ( Mike Evans) he really helped me take my game to another level as a point guard. I developed some good relationships with my teammates and the fans in Moncton as well. 

Did you need some adjusting to this level after playing in the lower German league?

The level of play in the NBL Canada is very high, because there are so many American players on each team. The league had former NBA, All-Americans, High Level European players, it was a very competitive league.  I would say I adjusted to the level of play pretty well.

How happy were you with your own performance playing 19 games averaging 9.3ppg, 1.6rpg, 3.9apg, FGP: 40.9%, 3PT: 31.6%, FT: 82.9%

I think I played pretty well while I was in Moncton. My role was a lot different there than other places I have played. My job was to run the team and set my teammates up. Be more of a facilitator  than a scoring guard. Coach Evans helped me with this transition a lot. I must say I am a much better shooter from the 3 then that 31% shows though. lol

What memories do you have from your 23 point, 8 assist game against Summerside?

That Summerside game …..I remember us going into that game saying we needed a win. We had lost a few close games and all of the players just went into that game with the mind set that we were going to win that game. It was a good overall game for us. We had 4 or 5 players in double figures. We played good defense and I did a good job of finding my teammates and scoring when needed.

What will you in general never forget from your season in Canada?

I’ll never forget my teammates ( we had some great guys on that team), the fans of Moncton, and most of all the opportunity I was giving to play. I was away from the game for awhile for many issues and I miss the game so much. Its a blessing to be able to play basketball for a living!

You have interest from PRO A and PRO B teams in Germany. How ready are you to play at this higher level after playing at Goppingen(Regionaliga)

I’m ready! I’m more than ready for the opportunity if it presents itself. I believe I have gained valuable knowledge and experience from each level I have played at. Whether it was Regionaliga, Finland’s Top League or Canada. Plus all the hard work I have put in this summer. I mean I have really worked hard! I lost about 20 pounds, I have become quicker, faster, more explosive. This is the best I’ve felt in a long time!

Why should a German team be interested in your services. What is your most vital attribute that would help any team?

I would say my versatility. I can do so many things for a team. Whether it be scoring, creating for my teammates, defending, being a leader and a good teammate. I work on all aspects of my game so I won’t have any  weaknesses. I believe a player who can adjust to any situation is very valuable. Thats the player I continue to work to be. Thats the player I believe I am. I can play several roles on a team.

How does a summer work out day look like for VIC Morris?

Well it depends on the day Monday, Wednesday and Friday I normally do skill workout in the gym in the morning around 8. This is when I work on ball handling, shooting, pick and roll drills, passing etc… After that I break and come back around 3 in the afternoon and do some cardio on treadmill, bike, elliptical, after cardio work, I lift weights for about a hour or hour and half, then I usually play a few games of pick up with the local college players.

Tuesday and Thursday are Conditioning and Skill work days. I usually go to the track in the morning and run 2 x 800m, 2x 200m, and 2x 100m. I do two sets of this. (Got this workout from my days at CSU) after that I do a few plyometric drills on the track. Later on that night I go to the gym and its another skill session. Saturday I may play a few pick up games but the weekend I usually try and spend with my family.

Describe Vic Morris in one sentence?

Im hungry, dedicated, humbled, blessed,  more focused than I ever been, and Im ready to prove myself at a higher level.

How surprised are you that the basketball career of Omari Westley didn´t take off as it should of after strong seasons in Iceland and Germany?

I don’t know what exactly happened with Omari or why he isn’t playing at a higher level in Europe but what I do know is that he’s one of the most talented players I ever played with and he’s going to give it his all every single time he steps on the court! I still keep in touch with him from time to time and he’s doing fine.

Who would win a game in their respective prime the 1992 or 2012 USA Dream team and why?

1992 Dream Team of course! Not only did they have the greatest player of all time on their team ( Michael Jordan) but you had several others that would be strongly considered as the best of all time at their positions as well. Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, John Stockton, Charles Barkley, Pat Ewing, David Robinson, these are all..All- Time greats! Its hard to beat that. Plus I believe the 92 Dream Team is a lot tougher and more physical than the 2012 team.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Last DVD I watched…. “Takers”  very good movie!

Leave a Reply

