Tim Ohlbrecht (Fraport Skyliners) I Have Learned Toughness From Muli Katzurin

Tim Ohlbrecht is a 23 year old 211cm power forward that was born in Wuppertal, Germany. He is playing his first season with the Fraport Skyliners. He started his basketball career in 2003 with the Bayer Giants Leverkusen junior team. He played his first Beko BBL game in the 2005-2006 season with the Bayer Giants Leverkusen. He played for the Brose Baskets Bamberg from 2006-2009 playing a total of 68 Beko BBL games. He played for the Telekom Baskets Bonn the last two seasons. Last season, he played 27 games averaging 6.7ppg, 4.9rpg, FGP: 56.0%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT: 73.7%. He played at the Olympic Games in Beijing (China) 2008: 3 games: 3.3ppg, 2.0rpg. He also played at the 2009 European championships, 2010 World championships in Turkey averaging 8.0ppg, 4.4rpg, FGP: 63.6%, 3PT: 46.2%, FT: 61.5%. Last summer he played at European championships in Lithuania. He spoke to german hoops about basketball.

If The Fraport Skyliners had an Easter egg hunt which Skyliner would find the most eggs?

I think Marius Nolte would find the most because he knows the area best.

It took the Fraport Skyliners a few months to find their rhythm. What was the deciding factor in December 2011 that things turned around?

It took us a little longer to come together. We had lost some bitter close games, but in December we slowly came together got over the mountain and one can say better late than never.

The Fraport Skyliners are able to beat the top teams, but the lose to BG Goettingen. Why is the team so inconsistent at times?

That was a bitter loss that shouldn´t have happened. You can never underestimate their fight.

The Fraport Skyliners belong to the top defensive teams in the BEKO BBL. Where would the team be without Quantez Robertson and Devin Gibson?

I think the opponent would score 20 points more. What Tez does for 40 minutes is incredible. The way that he is able to play at a high tempo for 40 minutes and never be tired is amazing. Even when the game is over, he doesn´t seem tired. Gibson always gets steals and forces the opponent to turnovers.

If Justin Gray had played the whole season, would the Fraport Skyliners be a playoff team now?

It is always difficult to put it on one player, but he really has been missed. I have missed the pick and role play with him. I am sure that the team would be higher in the standings now if he had been playing the whole time.

You are playing your first season with the Fraport Skyliners. How difficult has this season been for you?

The beginning wasn´t easy for me. I had received my first three month contract. I just wasn´t sure what to expect. Even though I continued to get good feedback from the club, in the back of my mind, I really had no idea what would happen. I was really happy to get the contract extension. I felt that I fit into the team from the start and always felt comfortable here.

What has been the most important thing that you have learned from head coach Muli Katurin?

I have learned toughness. He doesn´t like mistakes and you will be punished for it, but you always get a new chance to make amends. I just needed to trust him and now I have gotten used to his way.

Which player has helped you the most mentally this season?

Marius Nolte has helped me the most, but also Joe Herber has been there for me. We have known each other for a while form the German national team where we are room mates. It is always important to have guys on a team where there is a lot of trust.

You are only 23, but at times it feels like you have been around for 10 years. Do you sometimes feel older than your age?

Yes I do feel older at times. Sometimes I feel like I am 28 instead of 23. Even though I have been in the league 7 years, I am only 23 years old.

What is a strength in your game that doesn´t get recognized right away?

I think being able to close the spaces inside. I am quick, have quick feet and am there on the help side.

How tough was it being compared to Dirk Nowitzki?

It was tough at times, but I think that it is only normal that young talented guys get compared to great players. After me it was a Tibor Pleiss or Robin Benzing that got the comparisons. In the States when there is a young talented player, quickly the comparisons to Kobe, Lebron or Michael come. It is nice to get that comparison an dit is something you get used to.

On what things do you work on with Muli Katzurin?

We work on low post things. We work on perfecting three moves, reading the opponent what they give me and how to react.

What was your childhood like?

I had a good childhood. I was already at a young age away from home with the junior national team. It wasn´t easy keeping the friendships in that I moved so much the last years.

Who was your basketball idol as kid?

I always liked Kevin Garnett, because he wasn´t the strongest player, but always had an answer. He really made the game look easy. I tried to take some things from his game and incorporate it into my game.

What was your wake up call in the Beko BBL in 2005 as a 17 yearold?

My first points in Trier. I didn´t dunk over Detlef Musch, but he was next to me. I remember after the game, I was still so excited about getting my first basket.

Do you think the step to Bamberg was too early?

It wasn´t easy as I was away from home for the first time and I knew no one there. However head coach Dirk Bauermann was great. He wanted me there and I had a lot of trust in him and I feel that I was able to develop further there. I could have gone to the NCAA, but I think it was the right decision as I wanted to stay in the Beko BBL.

What was the most important thing that you learned from Chris Ensminger?

The hook shot. He is able to take that shot from anywhere on the court. He isn´t the most athletic, but his footwork is amazing and he has a great ability to get rebounds. It is amazing how well he still plays for his age.

Who won a one on one in practice you or ex NBA player Alexander Johnson?

I don´t have good memories form that. He was so athletic and would just outmuscle me. It did bring me down at times that he always beat me in practice, but he helped my game at the same time playing against a high class player like that each day.

What was a nice memory from the Summer Olympics 2008 in Peking?

There was a part of the city that was so old. Just walking through there and seeing the fisher men cooking their food on the street and seeing the flair in that part was nice.

What were the most free throws that you made in a row in a practice?

52 while playing for the Bayer Giants Leverkusen.

What was your most crazy shot in your career?

It was in Bamberg beating my old team Leverkusen. Nate Fox fouled me and I won the game form the free throw line.

In 2009 you were a judge in a paper ball basketball contest. What was your memory of that?

The German TV program Galileo invited some Bamberg players to come to Munich and judge and I was chosen. It was an office competition and I even tried shots and made just about every shot from no look shots to behind the back shots.

Who won a one on one, you or Jon Leuer?

Jon is a great player and I am happy that he is in the NBA. He would win and I would win. He would shoot and I scored inside with my hook shot.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Untouchable with Marius Nolte.

Thanks Tim for the chat.

Leave a comment