Ahmad Smith (Kirchheim Knights) I Am Not Worying About A Triple Double, But The Most Important Thing Is That We Win

Ahmad Smith is a 27 year old 194cm guard from Virginia that is playing fort he Kirchheim Knights. He played at St.Bonaventure(NCAA) from 2002-2006 and in his senior year played 28 games: ScoreA10-8(14.2ppg), RebA10-10(6.2rpg), AssistsA10-9(3.5apg), FGP: 41.0%, 3PT: 31.1%, FT: 59.8%. In 2006-2007, he played for Mardyke UCC Demons Cork (Ireland-SuperLeague): 9 games: 18.9ppg, 5.7rpg, 4.2apg, FGP: 51.6%, 3PT: 37.1%, FT: 60.8%. In 2007-2008, he played for SVD 49 Dortmund (Regionalliga): 6 games: 30.2ppg. In 2008-2009, he played for : BSV Wulfen (Germany-Regionalliga) 23.5ppg, 10.1rpg, 6.0apg, 3PT: 35.2%. In 2009-2010, he played for Hertener Loewen (Germany-ProB)29 games: 18.2ppg, Reb-2(8.7rpg), Assists-1(7.1apg), 1.2spg, FGP: 50.2%, 3PT: 34.9%, FT: 69.5%. Last season, he played for s Oliver Baskets Wuerzburg (Germany-ProA): left before the season started, then moved to SVD 49 Dortmund (Germany-Regionalliga): 6 games: 12.8ppg, waived in Nov.’10, in Jan.’11 signed at Nuernberger Basketball Club (Germany-ProB, starting five): 15 games: 8.3ppg, 6.8rpg, Assists-1(7.1apg), 1.4spg, FGP: 39.1%, 3PT: 28.2%, FT: 69.1%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

You are playing your first season for the Kirchheim Knights in the German PRO A. What has been the secret of the success of the team?

We have experience and we all get along well on the team. We also like to make the extra pass and play good defense.

Who has been the most improved player on the team?

Nils Menck. He didn´t get as much minutes last season, but he is showing what he can do this season.

Besnik Bekteshi is your teammate. What can he achieve as a player?

I think when he gets a bit older, that he can become a solid Beko BBL player. If he continues to work hard, sky is the limit.

One can call your mr potential triple double. This season, you have been close with 5,9,9 against Ehingen, 12,9,9 agaisnt Essen and 11,8 10 against Cuxhaven. Will you get a triple double this season?

I think I could, but I am not worrying about that. The most important thing is that we win.

What is a strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?

My defense gets overlooked. I have been working on it a lot in the off season.

You are playing your 5th season in Germany. Is there much disappointment that you haven´t reached the Beko BBL yet?

It was disappointing early in my career. If the day does come where I get there, then I will be satisfied. I am all right where I am now. I will continue to work hard.

What is still missing in your game for the next step?

My shooting. I continue to work hard on my shooting.

What was your childhood like?

I had a normal childhood. Hung around with my friends and played a lot of sports. I also supported the Washington Red Skins.

Who were your NBA idols as a kid?

Michael Jordan and Penny Hardaway.

What was your fondest memory in the NCAA with St Bonaventure?

Just the time with my teammates in the locker room.

When you were a freshman Marques Green had a 14 assist effort in a game against La Salle. Did you pick something up with his passing game?

The most important thing that I learned from him was how to prepare for a game on and off the court. He was the best passer that I ever played against. He has had a great career in Europe.

Who was your toughest opponent in the NCAA that might be in the NBA now?

Jahmer Nelson.

You came to Europe as a rookie and played for Cork in Ireland. What do you still remember from this experience?

That experience was totally new for me. The basketball was ok, but it rained every day.

Do you feel as if your talent as a basketball player has been overlooked?

Yes it has. I have had some bad luck. Last season I was with Wurzburg and they moved up after I left. I have met good people in my 5 years in Germany and don´t regret anything. I will continue to work hard and I believe that it will pay off some day.

What were the most free throws that you made in a practice?

30

What was your most crazy shot in a game or practice?

I hit a half court shot in high school to win a game.

Who has been the toughest opponent for you in the PRO A?

Justin Stommes from Paderborn.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Scarface with Al Pacino.

Thanks Ahmad for the chat.

Leave a Reply

