Jerel Allen (BG Goettingen) Basketball Is My Love And Goal In Life

Jerel Allen is a 26 year old 193cm shooting guard/small forward from Detroit, Michigan that is playing for BG Goettingen. He played at Florida State form 2005-2007 with NBA Players Tony Douglas and Al Thornton. In the 2007-2008 season, he played for Neptunas Klaipeda (Lithuania-LKL, starting five): Baltic League: 12 games: 8.8ppg, 2.8rpg, 2.0apg, 0.9spg, 2FGP: 32.4%, 3PT: 27.8%, FT: 61.5%; Lithuanian League: 17 games: 11.5ppg, 3.5rpg, 1.2apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 51.4%, FT: 83.8%, 3PT: 30.2%. In 2008-2009, he played for : SK Dnipro Azot Dnepropetrovsk (Ukraine-UBL, starting five): 38 games: 15.6ppg, 4.6rpg, 2.4apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 40.8%, 3PT: 38.1%, FT: 45.7%. In 2009-2010, he played for Kryvbasbasket-Lux Kryvyi Rih (Ukraine-Superleague), released in May.’10 : 23 games: 8.8ppg, 3.4rpg, 1.1apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 43.4%, 3PT: 31.9%, FT: 73.3%. Last season, he played for the Rockingham Flames (Australia) playing 21games: 21.7ppg, 6.5rpg, 3.1apg, FG: 41.7%. He spoke to German Hoops about his season in Germany.

What was the first thing that you said to Isiah Swann when you saw him on the court in Germany?

I told him that we are going to get this game. I really felt like we could have beat ratiopharm Ulm at home.

How has Isiah Swann developed as a player since Florida State?

He has always been a good shooter. His team likes to play off him. He loves the game so much and he has played exactly how I expected he would in Germany. He is always growing as a player.

You came very late to BG Goettingen. Did you have a feeling that the club was going through hard times when you arrived?

A few days before I signed with BG Goettingen, I had read that they were in last place. I had some fear, but since I have been here I have the hope that we can turn it around.

What was the most difficult thing that you had to get used to in the Beko BBL when you arrived?

There are many American players here. I was used to seeing 2-3 import players per team in the other countries where I have played. It almost feels like I am playing in the States.

Has the Beko BBL been the strongest league that you have played in?

Yes it has. I have played in Lithuania, Ukraine and Australia. The Ukraine league is very competitive and that league grows each season.

How has BG Goettingen improved since you have been there?

I think that from the day I came to the loss against ratiopharm Ulm, we were very close to finding ourselves. Our biggest struggle in the early going was finding our identity, but we have realized now that we are an up tempo team and need to run.

Have you ever played for a last placed team?

I have never played for a last placed team. This has been a new challenge and experience for me.

What is your role in the team?

Coach wants me to shoot the ball, but also just play my game, penetrate and pass the ball. He thinks that I can be an important piece to the team.

What is a strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?

I think that no one has seen me play to my full ability yet. I am an aggressive player that likes to attack and you will still see me excel at my game.

Your ex coach at Florida State Leonard Hamilton once said that you were one of the hardest workers that he ever had. Where did you get this focus from?

I came from the inner city and there weren´t many guys from there that had success. My goal in life was always to give 100%. Basketball is my love and goal in life. Whatever a team wants me too do, I will do.

What is the most amazing thing that you have seen Paris Horne do in practice?

Dunking. He is one of the best dunkers in Germany. He should have taken part at the slam dunk contest. I think that not enough people have seen him dunk here.

How has coach Michael Meeks helped you most so far?

He has helped me understand different assignments. Opponents will always put different defense formations and you have to be able to adjust and coach has helped me with that.

Who is your shooting role model?

Boston Celtic Ray Allen.

What do you still need to improve in your game?

I have to learn to make better decisions. I need to know to make a right decision and not an ok decision on the court. I also need to know to be able to see everyone on the court.

Who were your NBA idols as a kid?

Isiah Thomas, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan and Tim Hardaway.

You and Dashaun Wood are from Detroit, Michigan. Did you know him growing up?

We got a chance to play against each other in high school. He was one of the best players in high school, but I did well against him. I remembered him and he remembered me.

You started your college career at Mott(Njcaa) before going to Florida State. Were you always sure you could play in the NCAA?

I had many offers from NCAA schools, but my grades were down and that is why I had to go to Community College.

What was your fondest memory at Florida State?

Being the first Florida State team to win at Duke.

Who was your best opponent in the NCAA that is in the NBA now?

J J Redick from Duke and Ty Lawson from North Carolina. There were so many good players coming out of the ACC.

How did NBA player Tony Douglas set you up best on the court at Florida State?

He always made great plays. He was a real motor that always found the open guy.

What is your sweetest memory from playing in the Ukraine?

I remember my first season, I played for a team that was in the lower half of the standings, but we fought back making the playoffs. In the playoffs we beat a higher ranked team that had the money. Nobody expected us to win against them.

What were the most number of free throws that you hit in a row in practice?

40.

What was your most crazy shot that you made in a game?

I made a game winning shot in the Ukraine and at Florida State I threw up an ally-op to NBA player Al Thornton, but the pass was so bad that it went in.

Who wins a one on one you or Paris Horne?

We haven´t played yet, but with my competitive nature I think that I would win.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Love & Basketball.

Thanks Jerel for the chat.

One comment

Leave a Reply

