Jimmie Hunt (Murat Didin Would Say Bubba At least Every 5 Minutes)

Jimmie Hunt is a 29 year old 187cm guard that is playing for the second time for Euroins Cherno More in Bulgaria. He started his basketball career at Franklin Pierce (NCAA2) in 2000 where he played until 2004. He started his basketball career for : Kemoplast Alpos Sentjur (Slovenia) in 2005. In the 2006-2007 season for : Kemoplast Alpos Sentjur (Slovenia ) he played : 35 games: Score-1(18.4ppg), 3.1rpg, Assists-1(4.6), 1.6spg, 2FGP: 55,9%, 3FGP: 38,9%, FT: 80,0%. In 2007-2008 season, he played for the Deutsche Bank Skyliners Frankfurt (Germany)German League: 43 games: 2.8ppg, 1.1rpg, 1.1apg; ULEB Cup: 10 games: 4.8ppg, 1.1rpg, 2.4apg. He ha splayed in Bulgaria since 2008 and last season for the Florida Flight (CBL). He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.
It has been almost four years since you played your last game with the Deutsche Bank Skyliners. Has the time moved quickly since then?
Yes and no. I really missed my time in Frankfurt, but at the same time I have had good times since so I can´t complain.
You are playing your second time for Cherno More in Bulgaria and since 2008 in Bulgaria. You seem to like Bulgaria to stay?
Bulgaria is a nice country which has treated me good. I have always goten nice contracts so why shouldn´t I stay?
 
You live in Varna which is on the Black sea. What do you like most about the city?
The Black sea is nice. It is a nice place to walk around and there are always people around you. It isn´t Frankfurt, but Varna is nice.

How do you get around with English? I am sure its not as easy as it was in Frankfurt?
 
It isn´t as easy as it was in Frankfurt where everyone spoke English. My young teammates all speak English so they help me with the language.
Cherno More has a record of 9-15. How are your chances of making the playoffs?
The league has eight teams and they all make the playoffs. We have had injuries and some guys going, but we are coming together. I think that we can make a run in the playoffs.
Where can the team still improve on?
Just playing together. We have a young team and it is tough getting adjusted, but we will be ok.
How tough was it losing top scorer Aleksand Yanev who went to Greece?
It was tough. He is a good young player that took a lot of pressure off the rest of the team. We are still a good team without him.
You are the only American in a team that has Bulgarian players. How have you been accepted?
I have been accepted well. I am the point guard so they look for me to score and do things.
 
Your teammate is 21 year old Tihomir Zhelev. How much potential does he have an dcould he play in another country?
I think that he has a good chance. He is young and works very hard. If he continues to improve then I think that he could play in another country.
How much fun is it playing together with 35 year old Bulgarian basketball legend Georgi Davidov?
He is a great player and its a lot of fun playing with him. He knows the game very well and makes us better.
What have you learned from him?
 
Just to keep working and pushing. He also taught me to remain patient as we have many young players on the team.
How would you compare the Bulgarian league and Beko BBL?
I think they are about the same, but the BBL is faster due to more Americans.
 
What have you improved the most from your time in Frankfurt?
I am older now and see the game better. I use more my brain than my physical ability
What is a strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?
To be able to use my strength as a guard and post up against smaller guards.
 
Who has been your toughest opponent in Bulgaria?
Aaron Harper. He came to Bulgaria the same time I did.
Do you miss playing against less Americans?
For me it doesn´t matter. Basketball is basketball. I don´t really miss the Americans.

 

After your season for the Deutsche Bank Skyliners, why did you sit out the 2008-2009 season?
I had to go home and had family issues.
After strong seasons in Slovenia, you came to Frankfurt but were unable to fit expectations. Was the level to difficult or was it other factors?
I felt good playing that season. It wasn´t the level. Frankfurt had a very strong team and Pascal Roller had come back and was getting a lot of minutes. Sometimes a player will have a season like that.
Would the Deutsche Bank Skyliners have won the German title if they had won game 5 against Bonn?
 
I think that we could of. We were a bit unlucky in game 5, but had a strong enough team to have won it all.
What is your memory of Rudy Mbemba?
He was a very nice and funny guy that was always positive. He was so quick and athletic.
Were you surprised that Mbemba never made his basketball breakthrough?
 
He was a good up and coming player. He was very talented, but sometimes things happen in basketball and life that doesn´t make it happen for a player.
How was your relationship with Murat Didin? Were you intimidated by him?
No I wasn´t intimidated. We had a normal decent coach-player relationship.

How often did Murat Didin say bubba during the day?

At least every five minutes.
What do you miss the most from Frankfurt?
The fans. I loved the fans. They would support you no matter what.
Do you still have contact to players today?
Yes I talk to Derrick Allen, Ken Johnson, Dominic Bahiense De Mello and Ilian Evtimov.
If you gave Pascal Roller and Jimmy Mckinney 100 shots each from the corner, who would hit more shots?
That is a tough question. Both are good shooters, but it could go either way.
Who won a one on one in practice you or Jimmy Mckinney?
It depended who was hitting better. We had some good wars.
What was the last DVD movie that you saw?
 
The girl with the dragon tattoo.
Thanks Jimmie for the chat.
Leave a Reply

