Demetrius Jemison (Fraport Skyliners Juniors): My Ability To Run The Floor Doesn´t Always Get Noticed

Demetrius Jemison is a 24 year old 203cm forward from Birmingham, Alabama. He is playing his first season with the Fraport Skyliners PRO B team. He played at Alabama from 2006-2010 playing  a total of 93 NCAA games. He had a serious injury his senior year and transferred to Manhatten in 2010 playing 22 games: 10.4ppg, 8.6rpg, 1.4apg, FGP: 42.9%, 3PT: 50.0%, FT: 76.1%. Currently for Frankfurt he is averaging 16,8ppg and 9,0 rpg. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

You have played in quite  a number of Hessen derbies against TV Langen, Hanau or the Licher Baeren. How were these games different than other PRO B games?

The atmosphere was always great. The fans are so crazy rooting for their team.

Could you compare it to games against Mississippi or Alabama State?

I think it is very close. The passion and love the fans have for Mississippi or Alabama State is amazing. The derbies here kind of reminded me of the rivalries in the NCAA.

A tough 98-64 loss in Hanau. Frankfurt was without Danilo Barthel and Fabian Franke. Why couldn´t the team get the win?

It is tough for the young guys to come in and step up for those guys, but they did the best that they could.

The Fraport Skyliners PRO B team has a 6-14 record. Do you remember having a season like this in the NCAA?

My last year at Manhatten, I missed have the season and we lost many games because of that.It was a tough year since I don´t like to lose. We had the potential to be a good team then.

What has been your season highlight with Frankfurt?

It was our big win against TV Langen last weekend. Everyone played well and the guys from the bench gave great minutes. It was our best team effort of the season.

The average age in the team is 20 years. Does it sometimes feel like you are back at college?

Yes it does. So many times the kids here are talking about school and I have already graduated. I remember the days in school well. This situation does remind me about college.

The team has given up 80 or more points 11 times. What is the biggest difficulty on defense?

Our rotations are not as good as they should be. We have to be more sure on defense. We tend to give up the big plays too often.

It seems like the team depends on you and Larry Wright for scoring. Is  athird consistent scorer missing when a Franke or Barthel can´t play?

It isn´t easy asking young guys from the bench to come and make 15-16 points. Many of the young guys aren´t ready for that role.

You are averaging 16,8ppg and 9,0rpg in the PRO B. What ambitions do you still have?

I want to continue to play good basketball and climb up the ladder to PRO A and Beko BBL. I believe that I am a good player and that I can make the next step.

What exactly is your role in the team besides scoring and rebounding?

Playing good defense. Coach likes how I can anticipate passes.

What is a strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?

My ability to run the floor on offense and defense.

How has American Larry Wright helped your game?

We work out together and shoot around. He has taught me to keep my head up when my shot isn´t falling.

You are form Birmingham, Alabama. How do you like Frankfurt?

I love it. I am really thankful that I am able to play here in my first season. It is a beautiful city and like a small New York.

What do you like most about Germany?

I love the ice cream. There is an ice cream shop near my apartment that I visit almost every day.

What is your favorite food here or do you hang out a lot at Mcdonalds?

No I am not at Mcdonalds every day. I like a Doner.

What was your childhood like?

I grew up in a small state Alabama and had a usual southern type childhood. I grew up watching football, but when I was ten years old, my mom allowed me to play basketball.

Who were your NBA idols as a kid?

I liked Michael Jordan and remember him coming back from playing baseball and rejoining the Bulls. I also like Alonso Mourning and Dikembe Mutumbo.

Who was your favorite dunker as a kid and now?

I liked Shawn Kemp and now I like Blake Griffin.

How did you like his monster dunk over Kendrick Perkins?

That dunk was unreal. It looked like it was in a video game.

You played together with Skyliner Jermareo Davidson at Alabama. What do you like most about his game?

I like how he can put the ball on the floor and on defense the way he alters shots. The first thing my agent told me was that Davidson was also in Frankfurt. He has taken me under his wing and made the adjustment easier.

At Alabama you played together with ex Golden State Warrior and current Macabbi Tel Aviv player Richard Hendrix. What was your fondest memory with him?

We were roommates on the road. We had many long conversations at college. Last summer, before I came to Europe, he told me what to expect from the European style.

How did you do against him on a one on one game?

I did well, but he beat me too. I also had to guard him and Davidson in practice. They made me better.

What was the reason for transferring to Manhatten in your senior year?

I had had a serious injury at Alabama my senior year and I wanted to play my last year so I went to Manhatten and wanted to show everyone that I could still play coming off a tough injury.

What were the most free throws that you made in a row in practice?

10

What was your most crazy shot in a game?

I made a half court shot at Manhatten.

What do you miss the most from Alabama besides your family and friends?

Going to football games.

Why do you enjoy the TV series King of queens so much?

I love the character Arthur who also was in Seinfeld.

If you could add a Demetrius Jemison stunt to Mission Impossible 4 what would you add?

I would like to climb the hotel the way Tom Cruise did or take off with a jet pack.

Who are your 2012 NCAA Final 4 picks?

Kentucky, Syracuse, Duke and North Carolina.

Jimmy Mckinney won´t agree with you.

He wants Missouri.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Tower Heist.

Thanks Demetrius for the chat.

Leave a Reply

