Louis Hinnant (MBC): Troy Bell Told Me That By Game 4 You Will Be Starting And Low And Behold I Did

Louis Hinnant is a 26 year old 193cm guard from Gwynn Park/Oxon Hill,Maryland that recently joined the Mitteldeutscher BC. He played at Boston College from 2002-2005. In his senior year, he played 36 games: 7.5ppg, 2.8rpg, 4.6apg, FG: 48.4%, 3PT: 43%, FT: 69.1%. He reached the NCAA Sweet 16 in 2006. In 2006-2007, he started his professional basketball career with Sundsvall Dragons (Sweden-Basketligan, starting five): 22 games: 16.0ppg, 3.8rpg, 4.9apg, 1.3spg, 2FGP: 49.4%, 3PT: 38.0%, FT: 74.1%. In 2007-2008, he played for Joensuun Kataja (Finland-Korisliiga, starting five): 41 games: 18.0ppg, 5.3rpg, Assists-2(4.4apg), 1.5spg, FGP: 56.0%, 3PT: 35.1%, FT: 87.5%. He then played for Zalakeramia-ZTE KK (Hungary) from 2008-2010 winning the league title and cup in 2010. Last season, he played for Kryvbasbasket-Lux Kryvyi Rih (Ukraine-Superleague)playing  13 games: 10.2ppg, 2.4rpg, 3.7apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 50.0%, 3PT: 27.3%, FT: 71.7%. This season, he started off with Anwil Wloclawek (Poland) but left in Oct.’11, in Dec.’11 moved to Khimik-OPZ Yuzny, but left the same month. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Welcome to Germany. You signed for the German team MBC. What were the main reasons for coming to Germany?

Germany “generally” provides a more stable surrounding than a lot of other countries as far as sports and the economy are concerned. Not being in so “stable” situations in the past really wore on me, and I wanted to get back to stability.

The Mitteldeutscher BC is your third team this season after playing in Poland and the Ukraine. How difficult has this season been with so much change?

Very difficult for all of the reasons that I stated above. But as a wise man once told me, tough times don’t last but tough people do.

Why didn´t the situations work out in Poland and the Ukraine?

For various reasons, as of now I’m focused on helping MBC reach the goals that we have set for the season. Any situations in previous countries I try to let me representation deal with that, and I will keep my focus on basketball.

How was your first practice with new team MBC? What was your impression of your new team?

The first couple of days are always tough, learning the plays and getting comfortable with your teammates. But the guys at MBC have done a very good job of helping me out with everything. Ive only been here for 3 days and I feel like Ive been playing with these guys all season.

There are a few other Americans on the team with Arizona Reid, Robert Holcomb-Faye and Chris Oakes. Did you know any of these guys before coming in?

No, I didn’t know any of the guys prior to getting here.

The goal of the team is to return back to the top division Beko BBL. Do you feel a lot of pressure coming in having to perform right away despite having to adjust to so many new things?

As a professional athlete there is always pressure, but if there is no pressure then what are you playing. If I didn’t want to feel pressure I should go play for my local rec. league team or something.

You are a shooting guard, but can also play the point. You averaged 6,0apg with Zalakeramia-ZTE KK in 2009-2010. Would you feel comfortable playing the point if asked for MBC?

I am actually a point guard who can also play shooting guard. My entire career I’ve been a point guard, but I have height and some athleticism that allows me to move over to the SG position. But whatever the staff here at MBC needs me to do to help us reach our ultimate goal then I will do that.

You have played in countries like Sweden, Finland, Hungry and the Ukriane. In what country did you have the most satisfying stay on and off the court?

I would say overall, definitely Hungary, as a team we were able to win the championship and thats the ultimate goal. Everything is much better when you are winning. Even though I haven’t been back since then, I still feel like I made a lot of life long friends and teammates that season.

You played at Boston College from 2002-2006. What was your nicest memory playing together with Boston Celtic draft pick Troy Bell?

Troy took me under his wing from day one. It was crazy because coming in as a freshman I was playing behind 2 all American guards in Troy Bell and Ryan Sidney so I wasn’t expecting much time my first season. But Troy told me that by game 4 you will be starting, and low and behold the 4th game of the season I started and for the remainder of my career. He showed me how to be a professional, even as a college player he had a very business minded approach to the game, and to this day I still look to him as someone I can always bounce ideas off of, and he’s always willing to help me out.

When you were a senior, Tyrese Rice was a freshman. Did you ever think that he would progress so well as a basketball player from then to today?

Yes, I think everyone could see that Tyrese could flat out play the game of basketball. He could have easily been an all American his junior and senior year in college had they done a little more winning. I was pretty puzzled that he didn’t make it to the NBA straight out of college. But I’m happy for him, thats my guy we talk all the time, his family are like my family and vice versa.

Who won a one on one in practice back in the day you or Marquez Haynes?

Haha, we never played one on one back in the day. But Quez is a very explosive scorer.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Hmm the last movie I saw I think was called “The Help” (GREAT MOVIE BY THE WAY) I actually watched it on the plane coming over to Germany. I was glued in and it made the flight seem pretty short.

Thanks Louis for the chat and all the best with MBC.

Leave a Reply

