Michael Stockton (BG Karlsruhe): My Dad Is An Unbelievable Passer While I Am A Good Passer

Michael Stockton is a 22 year old 185cm point guard from Spokane, Washington. He is playing his rookie season for BG Karlsruhe in the German PRO A. He played four years at : Westminster (NAIA) from 2007-2011. In his senior year, he played 30 games: 18.2ppg, 4.0rpg, 4.2apg, 2.0spg, FGP: 54.4%, 3Pts: 36.4%, FT: 78.5%. Awards/Achievements in his basketball career have been NAIA D1 Elite Eight -09, NAIA D1 Sweet 16 -10, and All-NAIA D1 3rd Team -11. He spoke to German Hoops about his rookie season in Germany.

You played against Takumi Ishizaki this season. What was it like playing against a Japanese player?

It was interesting. He is a good player and I believe that he made most shots against us. When he had an open look, he really made us pay for it.

What are the biggest differences between Utah and Karlsruhe?

Utah has a lot of mountains and snow. So far there has been no snow in Karlsruhe which is nice. I have met good people in Karlsruhe and I am happy to be here.

BG Karlsruhe have started very slow. What have been the main reasons for the slow start?

I don’t really know, but I think that it comes down to us not playing as well as we should. Our opponents have made their plays at  a more consistent rate and we just have to continue to work hard and get better.

It seems like BG Karlsruhe have a slim bench, because most of the points come from the Americans and Rouven Roessler.

Our bench could be a factor, but I don’t think that we are to tired. We just have to get more contribution from everyone.

The heart and soul of BG Karlsruhe is German Rouven Roessler. He is playing his 9th season in the Beko BBL What is the most unique thing that you have seen him do in practice?

I have seen Rouven do a lot. He is still young can jump and shoot very well. I also have seen him do some nice dunks as well.

What is a strength in your game that isn´t always noticed right away?

I think that I can rebound the ball very well for a little guy. I also bring toughness and leadership.

What is your favorite pass? An ally-op, back door pass or kick out pass?

I like all three passes. I think the most flashy pass is the back door, but I like the kick out pass the best, because I find my open teammates.

What was your childhood like with 5 siblings?

It was a lot of fun. I am the middle brother and we were very competitive. That made me the person that I am today.

Do you think it was easier to have more siblings than being an only child and having to deal with such a famous father?

Absolutly. I think that it must be hard being an only child.

Why was your favorite player Charles Barkley?

He was my favorite non Utah Jazz player. He was always so nice to me when I saw him and I am really thankful for that.

Who was your favorite Utah Jazz player as a kid?

My dad, Karl Malone, Jeff Hornacek and Steven Howard.

When you were six years old, Charles Barkley told you, that he should be your role model before your dad. Is the NBA today missing these type of character players?

Barkley was one of a kind. I think that there are enough character type players in the NBA, but guys today aren´t as appreciated as the players back then.

What is your favorite Karl Malone story?

There are too many stories to tell. He was one of a kind. I remember one time as me and friends were playing basketball outside, he came over took the ball and dunked over 7 kids as some were hanging on to him.

What are the main differences between John Stockton and Michael Stockton on the court?

My dad is an unbelievable passer while I am a good passer. I am not on his level. I am more a scorer and he is more a pass first player.

What is your favorite John Stockton game?

When he hit the winning shot over Barkley getting to the 1997 NBA finals.

What was the most important thing that you learned from your dad?

My Dad taught me never take anything for granted.

You played at Westminster(NAIA) reaching the Sweet 16 and Elite 8. What was the most important thing that you learned from head coach Tommy Connor?

The most important thing that I learned from him was to always go out and play hard and never give up. Coach Connor played college basketball and spoke from experience.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

I don’t usually look so far down the road and don’t like to speculate, but I hope that I am still playing professional basketball.

Who wins a 1-1 game you or John Stockton?

I can safely say that I would win since I am a little faster, but in a team setting, he is still the best that I have ever seen.

What were the most free throws that you made in a practice/game?

I made 50 in  a practice and 10 in a game.

What was the most crazy shot that you made in a practice of game?

I hit a running half court shot before half time at a Westminster game.

Who wins a 1-1 you or Marco Samarco?

He is a big guard and I will stay humble and say that he would win.

What do you like most about the country Germany?

I like the people and food and am happy about no snow.

What is your favorite food?

Wiener Schnitzel.

What do you miss most from the States?

Family, friends and big hamburgers.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Coming to America.

Thanks Michael for the chat.

Leave a Reply

